Day 863: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: fraud

in Freewriters4 years ago

image.png

This is my post for #freewrite Sunday prompt fraud hosted by @mariannewest

Damn, it was cold this morning. The weatherman said winds 10 knots or less so I figured I would go fishing. My husband did not go he said the water temperature in the river is too cold. But I had looked at the inlet tides and it was to start flooding at 7 am. I knew the ocean water would be warmer than the river water and thought maybe some pompano would come in the river with the flood tide.

Either the web site was wrong on the tide times or something screwy was going on. I slushed my way across the river, did I forget to tell you that the wind being 10 knots or less was a lie. It was white capping out of the northeast, I could not get up on a slide I would say I wallowed across the river. The water temperature, on my scope, said it was 60 degrees, which is too cold for pompano. I could see the flood tidewater but it was not to me yet so I anchored and waited on it.

It was almost noon when it got to me, I wonder if I could file fraud charges on whoever made up the tide chart. The tide line was literally right under my boat when I hooked the first one and lost it. I hooked another one and lost it. I changed my hooks from 3 oughts to 2 oughts thinking they are small fish. Then I started catching them. I looked at my scope and the temperature had come up to 69.

The tide was still flooding but the north wind overpowered it and pushed the warm water to the south and I was back in the cold water and did not catch anymore. I should have followed it but I was tired and my body was sore from trying to stand in that rock and rolling boat.

I ended up catching 14 pompano that weighed 25 pounds, I lost 5. Still a good days pay.

I ended up catching 14 pompano and I lost 5

Sort:  

Are pompano good eatin?

Posted using Partiko Android

@makingstuff Yes they are, but they are very expensive. The retail market in my town charges 20 dollars a pound for the fillets. Once in a while, I will keep a small one for us to eat I pan sear it with shrimp, so good. They are very rich tasting.

I am glad that you caught enough to make it worth your while. But complain to that weatherman!!

@mariannewest I had to laugh at your comment, I bet the weatherman's ears burn every day. hahaha

sounds like a really good day!

@irisworld It was a good day but we need more than one a week, they are calling for bad weather all week.

Great the day was not completely lost and you have your paycheck. 👍💕

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty I am glad I went, it is looking like bad weather all week. Not good. It will be a small paycheck but it is better than nothing.

I can imagine you are happy you went. I hope you won't catch a cold. Keep an eye on the latest Steem news. Some close apps down..or it's not working. See my account and watch your Steem! 💕

Sometimes the weatherman only knows what yesterday’s weather was. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14