Day 828: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: facelift

in Freewriters4 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Sunday prompt facelift hosted by @mariannewest

One of my earliest memories is of my Dad teaching me to swim. He would throw me off the dock and jump in after I hit the water he would not let me touch him as I struggled to stay on top of the water. We did this over and over until I could dog paddle myself to shore. My Mother tells me I was two years old when I learned to swim, I find it hard to think I could remember something from when I was two. But I do remember him doing this. We lived on an inlet and it was important for us to know how to swim at an early age. It seems like it was yesterday.

I think I was around 7 years old when I found out how to walk on the bottom of the inlet. I would dive down pick up a big rock and carry it for as long as I could hold my breath. We never owned a diving mask, I think our eyes were used to the saltwater, other people would ask how we could open our eyes under the water.

Those years seemed to drag by, I was never going to grow up. Then I was 17 pregnant and getting married. Kids were great and I never knew I could love someone so much as I did my kids. But were they ever going to grow up?

Their childhood days went by way to fast. As I sit here typing this I think it is true, I blinked. I have no kids at home and when I look in the mirror I see an old lady who needs a facelift.

Tomorrow this old lady gets to fish, the weather has finally going to let us work.

Sort:  

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

@myjob You are a young woman with a youthful spirit. Cheers.

@felixgarciap Thank you, you are so kind. In my head, I am still young. I just need to not look in the mirror. lol

Yeah I could need one too but my children not seem to see any difference. 😁

Happy day.

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty You are lucky, my kids can see the difference. Maybe I have all these wrinkles from being in the sun. That is what I will blame it on, not old age. lol You have a happy day, too.

@myjob I have them because I eat prednisone for years and my skin became thinner...that means more wrinkles... women have a thinner skin as men ... I guess my children are more focussed on the inside or themselves.
Avoiding a mirror helps. 💕

@wakeupkitty Yes avoiding the mirror would make things better. lol

@wakeupkitty that is the plan, lol

Alas, time flies by too fast. I enjoyed your free write 😊😊 happy weekend to you!

Posted using Partiko Android

@ iamraincrystal Thank you for the nice comment, also wishing you a beautiful weekend. Yes, I can not believe how fast it has gone by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85