Covid 19 - Working from home, can it be achieved

in Freewriters4 years ago

IMG_20200228_172016.jpg

After speaking and knowing so many people who are working from home, all I can say is that this topic is a divided debate.

This pandemic has taken a toll on all of us and some of us were forced to work from home even though it was not an option. If we go back 6 months and and someone were to tell me that I would be working from home for the next 3 to 4 months, I probably would've taken that option and work for half my salary. But now, that is the case and I find myself waking up everyday struggling just to get some work done in my boxers listening to reggae music.

I have to consider myself a very lucky person knowing that I have a job. A lot of people are unable to work. The general population is struggling to make ends meet. Children of men are grieving over the loss of loved ones. I am compelled to write this blog and share my selfish story.

====

What I notice about people and life is that the human body has a routine, we are accustomed to waking up everyday and doing our daily routines. Then all of the sudden the tables are turned and your lifestyle has now been changed. What makes humans so incredible is that we can change and adapt to all types of environments but drastic changes can also have an impact on the human body.

A perfect example of that is when working from home makes you want to stay indoors and you tend to move less which makes you more lazy, when depressed you look for comfort and the easiest place to treat yourself is 10 feet away. You eat a nice cupcake (which turns out to be 10 cupcakes). At the end you fell bad about yourself and you try take a nap trying to forget about what just happened. A couple of hours later you are waken up by hunger, open the fridge and look for the best thing to satisfy the hunger...junk food.

It can either make us love the way we work or it can leave us having seconds thoughts about our future and asking our boss to go on sick leave...indefinitely

===

There are two sides to a coin and down below I will talk about the pros and cons as well as state my honest opinion.

Pros :

You don't have to worry about waking up early in the morning and thinking about getting there in time.

Transportation and traffic can play a huge role on stress and the state of mind of a human being.

You have more free time to yourself which gives you the time to learn new skills.

Cons:

You miss the social aspect of interacting with people.

You tend to miss your work space and the bonds and friendships you made with people.

You have a tendency to be lazier and move less since everything at reach is close by

My honest opinion:
I can honestly say that working from home has been an experience, an experience I will never forget. Nothing is certain, tomorrow is not guaranteed and who knows how many dark days are ahead of us before we can see the light.

Teleworking has allowed me to pick up and instrument and play more, I am taking guitar lessons online, it has definitely helped me improve as I can say that learning an instrument is an excellent past time. It helps with the brain and it keeps you busy during these hardships. I am learning new dishes and it is helping me discover new plates as well impress the person I am currently living with. I have made it my routine to go out at least 15 to 30 minutes every day for some fresh air because the human needs to be in touch with nature. Call the people you haven't seen in weeks, months and tell them you love them, take the time and spread the love around your entourage. Even if it means sending someone a virtual kiss. Appreciate you have in this lifetime to make a difference in your life and in someone's else life.

IMG_20200526_193025.jpg

Sort:  

Nice write up

I`m glad you like it,

Best Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18