Mistakes

in Freewriters3 months ago (edited)

No need to be afraid of making a mistake or lament for mistakes made in the past.
They are valuable learning experiences....if we actually learn something.

"Some common synonyms of mistake are blunder, error, lapse, and slip. While all these words mean "a departure from what is true, right, or proper," mistake implies misconception or inadvertence and usually expresses less criticism than error."

I make mistakes ALL THE TIME!

Screenshot 2024-06-02 235306.png

About four years ago I moved to North central Florida. Someone I had not seen in twenty years welcomed me with a visit and gift. A plant in a pot. A Mexican petunia. They assured me the person they received the plant from told them it was not the invasive kind. Ha Ha. there is no such thing as a non-invasive Mexican petunia.

Now four years later they have spread everywhere. The roots are unstoppable. And they grow very quickly. I wouldn't mind but now they have become infested with mites and the plants are sick and I have no way to control for the mites. The plants do not bloom anymore and it is a sad depressing affair. They are everywhere. Around the base of every tree, along the fence on the inside of the fence and along the outside of the fence. They are along the front of the house. The side of the house. It's an invasion.

I am pulling them all out. It was my mistake. I listened to this person who didn't know what they were talking about. Before planting I need to research a plant.

It will take quite a bit of time to get them all removed and I am sure little sprouts will appear here and there forever just to remind me of the lesson.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 3 months ago (edited)

I believe the idea is that this plant reminds you of the one who gifted you with it!
Those mites aren't killing it? I wonder if that plant has an enemy.
The neighbours aren't complsining about the invasion? It sounds as if this plant is an alien.

Good luck with fighting this weed.

Blessings to you.
❤️🍀

#comment - UVF gestuurd.jpg

 3 months ago 

Lot going on here with this for sure. The person who gave me the plant scares me. lol

Tell that person you have a present for him🙃

 3 months ago 

karma... 😁
image.png

 3 months ago 

Yes. The person who gave me the plant. Like someone giving me a disease. duh.

How about using the olf fashioned soap. No ladybugs? Can be the new sprouts will be free from diseases. 🤣

 3 months ago 

There are just too many plants. From one plant in a pot 5 years ago there are thousands now. I planted the offshoots everywhere, (Duh!)along the fence, on the sides of the house, around the shed, at the base of small trees like, tea olive, crepe myrtle, but the roots of Mexican petunia are nasty. They choke out everything around them. The roots can go anywhere but they somehow are attracted to roots of other plants just so they can strangle them. Nothing can grow with them. (Time to build a wall. ha ha) " The wild, invasive form of this plant is so aggressive, it's banned in some states, and it's on a watch list of invasive plants in others. The state of Florida lists Mexican petunias as “highly invasive.” Native to Mexico and western South America,"
image.png

That petunia is a fighter strangling everything in its way. An interesting way of surviving. It clearly feels great after you gave it all the space it desires.
It's a pity it didn't learn how to kill the mites and bugs it needs to evaluate a few hundreds of years more. If you and the state will let Petunia live on. I wonder about mint it's attractive to bugs if it rained a lot. Some herbs fight the nasty plagues of insects. You should keep it in pots first although mint is invasive too. I wonder who wins the battle.

I struggle with the roits of fake acacia and a smelly tree (even worse) also called 'vinegar tree' but vinegar smells better. Both strangle and kill everything except for weeds. My fruit trees die kr hardly grow. If you ask me those nasty trees protect the termites and moles.

Long live nature, yeah...

P. S. It's not good for the soil but roots and trunks cannot stand diesel an old Hungarian told me. It takes a bit till you notice it but it's true.

👋🍀

 2 months ago 

There are some plants that emit a chemical out of their roots that kills other plants near it. The pine tree sends out an aerosol that clogs the leaves of plants and trees nearby. In a pine forest that's all there is. Not even undergrowth. Fascinating how these living beings deal with survival. I wondered why I didn't see anyone in this area with a nice patch of Mexican petunias. It is a good source of pollen but the bees have to go really deep into the flower to find it. I used watch and chuckle as they disappeared and came out covered with yellow powder. At first I was very happy to see how nothing could grow with them and thought, yeah... no weeding. Oh boy... what a dummy.

Pine trees allover the place can be the solution. There's no weeding in forests either but you will somehow always live in the dark (one with a good odour) these trees grow fast.

A great Saturday/weekend to you.
❤️🍀

 2 months ago 

Thank you. You as well. ... There's no such thing as bored.

Mistakes are lessons for future improvement I've done that too

 3 months ago 

Old saying, "Failure is the pillar of success."

You had an invasion of sick plants too?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59214.68
ETH 2622.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44