Hidden Values

in Freewriters3 months ago

As a child I grew up in the woods behind our home in Massachusetts and am intrigued by foraging and finding out the hidden values of the plants and trees nearby.

One thing I was considering the last few days is... if someone is stranded in the forest (who knows how or why they got there) usually the concern is food and water, the elements.. rain. wind, etc., and protection from wild animals. But really insects needs to be right up there on the list. It's not like someone could run to the store and buy a bottle of insect repellent. But certainly some of the plants in the forest would work.

A little bit of Googling and some interesting information:
The plants to be considered are the ones with strong scents. The strong scent masks the scent of the body..
Pine, wormwood, wild geranium, mint, lemon grass, there are quite a few.

image.png

and interestingly enough the leaves of the beauty berry,

image.png

a bush with purple/blue berries like pearls in clusters.

20240605_161026.jpg

They are growing wild everywhere here. Actually a forest of them in the back part of the property.

I like to put the berries in the blender with a little honey and water and let it sit for a few days. A kind of homemade mead. The berries make a nice jelly or jam also.

As usual I will have some competition for the berries; squirrels, birds, raccoons and whoever else is wandering around out there. Hopefully there's enough for all of us.

I am ever-amazed at the wonderland we live in. This planet. And the unlimited graciousness of the plant kingdom. They supply everyone with everything. Other living entities live by eating them. But they live by utilizing the raw elements. The sun, the soil, water, the air..

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

As always I enjoyed reading you. I never saw berries like these. All I have (nearly over) are mulberries. The blackberries refuse to grow. I starr thinking it's the soil or a K3 plant :(

All my cherries were eaten by the birds again so I bought me some.

❤️🍀

 3 months ago (edited)

Oh dear. Sorry about the cherries. I've seen some of the blueberry orchards here using balloons and steamers that move in their trees. It seems the movement startles the birds and they don't like the feeling of being frightened. I had some success with a peach tree here with long rubber snake. I did need to keep repositioning it though.

 3 months ago (edited)

More orchards use it, also use shooting every... Some say old cds help. Two years ago I used a net for a part of the tree. That was a good year. Next the tree was stressed. I thought it would die. After winter we had a talk and dome more and it became leaves and blosdom. So I should be happy although I said: couldn't you have saved at least one cherrie for me? But hey I am happy you look better. Let's see what next year will bring.

I'm not going to shoot there are enough hunters here I have to scare away plus my wolves and I get nervous of the sound. I live here to have my peace and don't like to be disturbed.

👋

 3 months ago 

You must a have a really awesome place. It's just one acre here and more than enough to try to manage. We are not alone. the critters are everywhere and want what we have. ha ha

Let me share some photos with you

In front of my gate to the right
20240609_104420.jpg

Looking straight ahead
20240609_104521.jpg

At the left
20240609_104410.jpg

 2 months ago 

Awesome. You are indeed very, very fortunate! What part of the world is this? I'm in North Florida, USA. This is across the street. It's semi-rural.
20240605_192754.jpg

East Europe - Hungary close to the Romania border

 2 months ago 

Fruit soup... going to have to try to make some of this.

My children tried it but don't liked it. It foesn't look attractive to me. How about red pepper, lángos?

You should use the hashtags #freewrite and #steemexclusive too. More people can read you if you do so.

 3 months ago 

I'm really indebted to you. This is making my Steemit experience a lot more fun and exciting.

 3 months ago (edited)

Once someone reached out to me, now I give you a hand and sooner or later it's your turn.

Do you join the boylikegirl.club contest already? Also vote daily on their newest lottery. It's all you need to do to make a chance to receive a part of the earnings of their next post.

 3 months ago 

That's the way it works. Reaching out to others. So thankful you reached out. Writing is awesome. I experienced it with painting also. By trying to capture what I was seeing my way of seeing in general became more conscious of forms, shapes, qualities etc. Now by trying to write I am experiencing a deeper appreciation of words, what they capture. More relish and appreciation. So these groups of writers are pushing it over the top... Again you opened the door. Keep up the good work for others. Your rewards are sure to come...

Your rewards will come too.
It's not easy to express feelings by creating but you are good at it. With every try we master it more and isn't it awesome to see how we change and grow?
This is the biggest reward next to the freedom and the recognition of at least one other person.

There's talent, creativity if boxes disappear and strings don't tie us up.

Let's enjoy the magic of words.

I wonder what your paintings look like.

A blessed day
🍀❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66