Freshly Roasted Coffee Beans

in Freewriters3 years ago

Walking past an old small shop, I smelled an aroma irresistible. I turned around asked my mum, "What is that smell?" She replied, "Coffee". "The uncle is roasting the coffee beans with some butter". Since then, I had a very good impression on coffee. And I was 7 years old, I knew I would not be allowed to drink that drink my parents drank daily in the morning while reading newspaper.

img_0.960935954151434.jpg

Photo is taken from unsplash.com, captured by Alin Luna

Fast forward 3 years later, when I was 10 years old, I was always alone in the afternoon. Parents at work. Older sister at school. I, alone with my baby brother, I would make a cup of instant coffee in the evening for snack with biscuits while reading book to my baby brother.

How did I know to make one? I always notice them making the cup of coffee - how many scoop of coffee, creamer and sugar to put. Easy peasy. I tried to make without creamer because I love black coffee. I remembered the first time I took a sip, it was Cloud9. Finally, like finally...I got to drink the aroma I smelled for years. My tastebuds got to taste. What a privilege.

img_0.24348129897300702.jpg

Photo is taken from unsplash.com, captured by Christina Rumpf

My mother found out and she allowed me to drink because I still could sleep soundly at night. Not affecting my sleep at all. She did advise only one small cup per day. Aye aye captain.

Since then, coffee is my favourite drink till now. 30 years of companion. I told my husband, when we retire, I want to buy a good coffee machine which we get to roast the coffee beans then grind them, then make a cup of coffee whether cappucino or latte or americano.

Visualising growing old with coffee - wake up, read news, make coffee, drink while blog and connect with people at blockchain, exercise, miscellaneous, then coffee again as snack. Maybe some gardening or knitting or crocheting. Books. Music. Dancing in the midst of the aroma of freshly roasted coffee beans. What an amazing retiring life.

img_0.8608222636678625.jpg

Photo is taken from unsplash.com, captured by Nathan Dumlao

I also tested before without coffee for one week, I was still functioning well, meaning I am not addicted to the beans. Okay, safe to drink. Haha. Just saying....


Happy Freewriting

❤️Love, Jade

MomentCam_202005222231370620100560019000.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60716.93
ETH 2594.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55