5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday Prompt; The Stories We Have Been Told

in Freewriters3 years ago

When dad and mum were alive, we rarely associated with dad's relatives. Mum didn't like them and dad being who he is didn't want to have any problems with mum, so he let her have her way. She always said that she suspected that they were the cause of her recurrent miscarriages until she had I and my younger sister. Dad didn't believe this but he didn't want any argument with mum so he always respected her decisions. But after their death, leaving us at a young age, dad's relatives took good care of us and are still doing so till date. Sometimes, I wonder why mum resented them so much. They were nothing like what she described. I guess it's such believes in this part of the world that has pitched families against each another. Given all that they've done for us, I find no rationale for mum's attitude towards them but then again, these are stories we've been told.

Sort:  

Very nice use of the prompt! I enjoyed this. Families can go so wrong, but I'm happy you got to know them, and that they have been kind to you.

I'm glad you liked it. And yes, in this part of the world, people can really be superstitious and families sometimes take things way overboard.

Wow. Awesome man. This is a relatable script in my part of the world as well. Beautifully presented.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63639.69
ETH 2734.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61