Lola is Officially Back!

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)


Two years ago while I was finding my footing on the Steem blockchain, I had the greatest opportunity to join the Freewrite community. They welcomed me with open arms and I found a home there. Up to that point, I had always wanted to be a writer and I had struggled with the courage to see this through...something I'm still working on. But while using @mariannewest's daily prompts, I was encouraged more and more to keep going and to keep building skills.

On one fine day, the prompt was paint, and it is safe to say that this prompt changed my life. After reading the prompt, suddenly, in front of me, was this broken woman in a room that was prepped for painting. She was sad, frustrated and angry. She threw the paint at the wall and walked away. I had never written anything were I felt just as deeply as the character, and something inside of me changed. The next day I wrote about her again, and it was deeper than the first, more pain and more agony, but there was a story that needed to be told, and it didn't matter if anyone read it.

Then something really exciting happened. People did read it. Then they were curious about why she hurt so badly. So, through the daily prompts it was revealed that Lola, a twenty-four year old living in Alton, Illinois, had recently lost her husband in a car accident. She had blamed herself and through her grief had almost lost her unborn child. With the support of her family and a close friend, she was starting to see her life for the love that it still had. But then something interesting happened. Her deceased husband had left something behind. A potential clue that his death had not been an accident. Now, with the help of her husband's best friend, who was also Lola's past flame, they are uncovering the truth.

It was such a joy to write and create this story, after forty-five parts though, I needed a break. Someone once said that when I was ready to write it again, it would be even better than the first. @cecicastor asked me yesterday if there could a be an ending to the story, a way to wrap it up, and it was seconded by @scribblingramma. I think it's time!

My plan is pretty simple. @scribblingramma said it would be nice to reread the first parts again, so I've decided to take the posts, add bonus material and create a fluid story! Then release them in several parts. I've compiled all of the parts which accumulated to 55 pages and over 19,000 words! Then I will finish out the story using the daily prompts. If they started it, then I think they should finish it.

I want to give a big shout out to all the readers that followed this story before! The helped bring so much life to Lola with all of their amazing comments and questions. What a blessed time to live in, where characters can come to life and the audience can watch them grow!

@freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @canadianrenegade, @enginewitty, @wordymouth, @mizdais, and @squishysquid!

Thanks so much for sharing this me!

Much love,
Stacie D

flower page break.png




hi

Sort:  

Very cool. If you haven't already done so, you might want to also post this on Hive as most of us have moved there.

Thanks

You're welcome.

This is so exciting!! I am so happy that you decided to continue and am looking forward to rereading the previous chapters - and it sounds like you are going to do the difficult job of editing as you go along!

I'm glad you're excited! I dove head first into it today, and it was exciting to get back into it! Then I realized I wasn't posting it right away so I decided to freewrite another Chloe and Tim part haha. You're encouragement means a lot to me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87