You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 1375: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: the first bill

in Freewriters3 years ago

I got this piece of paper this morning from my mailbox. Every now and then, I pick it up and just stare at it. Holding my first electricity bill is so satisfying. Because it serves as proof to companies that I finally have my own home, so it's kind of a certificate, too. Recognition for all the effort and hard work during the five decades I've been alive.

Now that I'm so close to retiring, it's good having a place I can rely on. I'm not getting kicked out anymore. Enough of bothering my friends when I can't afford to pay rent without hurting my savings. Yes, that miserable life is finally over. It's just me, my house and my furniture.

Next time my son comes to see me, I'll proudly invite him in. I wonder if he'll understand. He has a long way before reaching my privileged position. Too bad his mother isn't around anymore. She was really looking forward to this moment. But if anything happens to me, at least we have our boy's back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65