You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 859: 5 Minute Freewrite CONTINUATION: Wednesday - Prompt: insider

in Freewriters5 years ago

Remember, all the way back to Black, White, and RED All Over ... I write fiction that is NOT! For at least 150 years, America's home-grown terrorists have been on every kind of security force there is -- look up the origin of this country's police and who they were policing! As a Black woman, this is knowledge I have to know and teach so that people like me SURVIVE, and that's been true for a LONG time! I use fiction as a tool, but just know: it is NOT!

Sort:  

Yes. It is over and over shocking again what all has happened and what still is happening. It hurts to the core. other podcasts I frequently listen to are codeswitch and pod save the people. I didn't grow up in this country and don't always understand all the nuances of discrimination. Such as communities being developed with bridges over the streets that are so low that buses can't go under. Of course, to keep the bus riders out of their community. Crazy shit!

Yes ... CRAZY is the word. Really tough for immigrants too, for a long time ... we could spend a long time talking about city design made to keep both you and me in certain places and out of others!

I don't listen to many podcasts, but I was raised by elders who lived the history, work on the ground in community work and am a voracious reader ... however, I appreciate the podcast tips because 2020 is a good time to expand my horizons!

You have a lot to share! I love podcasts because I spend long periods of my day doing work that does not require all my brain - the podcasts keep me going and there is so much to learn in this world :)

There is a TON to learn ... I use YouTube sort of like that in the background, more to listen than to watch ... it is amazing what is available and can be learned!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45