President for a day

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

58603a5cc61897173fc7246de23b72e8.jpg

Being a president for a day would be fucking amazing, especially when I have the power to act and do whatever I want constitutionally. As a matter of fact, there has been many things wev'e been going through in this country that is yet to be fixed.

We face a lot of challenges everyday. We have poor infrastructures. Many graduated are unemployed, and there is high rate of insecurity. However, me acting as a president for one day can't find it easy to solve these problems withing the very short period of taking up the presidential mandate.

All these amenities would take time to implement. In view of this, I would have to think of something I can do within the short period of 24 hours that would impact the lives of my fellow Nigerians.

What will @beautychicks do in a day?

The day of elbow gathering, and shouting over each others voice is gone for now because of Covid-19. Many citizens are feeling the heat. In Nigeria, we have almost 200 million people, with about 45 to 55% poverty rate.

The statistics is getting worse as the pandemic is killing and limiting human activities. For easy control and reduction of Covid-19 casualties, the goverment decleared lockdown long ago ,which was recently eased, but inter-state movement is still active.

The government shared some parliatives to help the people while observing quarantine, but many prople didnt get anything. I didn't get either. I've seen many people cry of hunger, and I watched a lot on TV and social media. The most funniest was a Driver that went Naked and started crying when the military men stopped him from carrying passengers across the border of Lagos. It was funny, but sad.

If I have the opportunity of acting as the Nigerian President for a day, this is the first thing I would do.

I will make sure every Nigerian using a bank account and have a bvn number gets an alert of #150,000($400) each(I think UK shared up to $1000)

7051810fff5296bacb8e633598b72b14.jpg

The first thing that can frustrate anyone in life is hunger. The pandemic has disrupted many businesses. Some had lost their job due to low investments on return in their working place, and quite a handful are unemployed. This little amount would help them to set up a mini business of their own, to have the capability of fending for themselves and their families.

Secondly, I will try my best to convict some people and release some leaders.

15ddb324ab8813733ccc8a888d31e282.jpg

This might sound wicked, but most of our leaders are more wicked. Right from time, there are some bad leaders, both ex and incubent that are corrupt, and never persecuted the way others are probed, due to their influence. Since I know most of them already, I will go straight to their file, check their records, order their arrest and grt them persecuted. The former president of Ghana JJ Rowlins did thst during his tenure, and it was one of the bold step he took that changed the story of Ghana for the better.

50d02bdbd5127058e27adc5a9ae7df83.jpg

On the other hand, there are some prisoners that are innocent of their charged, but because they are less powerful, they are arraigned in court and persecuted. These set of people will get a new judgement ftom me. I will release most if them having hone through their records.

I will make sure that some prisoners eho has been in prison for a long time and has turn a new leaf are also released. Some prisoners over time in prison has learn apprentice work, and some go to school in prison and at the end become a certified graduate in a course. Most of these set of people will recieve presidential pardon, and I believe their impact will be felt in the society for the new chance given to live a fruitful and decent life.

Another thing I will do is declear a free transport on all government public Buses for a day

b406e8acc7ca6352a8774e3511fd52d2.jpg

There are government Buses that convey prople everyday. In Lagos, we call it BRT. Abuja people call it L Ruffai Bus. Almost every state have their government public Buses. For a day in office, people will take free transport without paying a dime. One day in office is not much, so I would do things that people will benefit ftom instantly before 24 hours.

Many things need fixing

19dcab2367ab7d430ab8dc091db6f278.jpg

47e7064483d08b958b914d9a7b55d2ad.jpg

There are many things that need to be fixed.

  • The roads are bad, but I can't construct road in a day

  • Electricity is poor, but a day is too short to grt it fixed

  • I can't also fix the security of the country jn one day. However, if it's possible to award contracts and get it sealed before leavjng the office, then I will award many road contracts, issue money yo power holding to create an avenue for more lower that can sustain the country, give free education to all government primary school students, and make sure that enough arms and ammunition is ordered for the Nigerian forces before leaving the presidential seat.

I know doing all these isn't easy, because it involves a lot of money, but I know we have it. Some leaders embezzle millions of dollars every month. Switzerland has been paying Abacha loot to the Nigerian government since he died in 1997, and they are yet to pay half of what the military ex president embezzled.

If I become the Nigerian president for a day, people will feel the impact. Vote for me in 2035. I should have come a long way by then.

Thanks for taking time yo read my one day presidential governance.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Great job. I have learnt something new today with this reading: your country, its problems, and possible solutions you propose in Nigeria.

Thanks a lot. That's Nigeria for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49