[ EN | PT ] Do you buy books to read or to decorate the house? - Você compra livros para ler ou para decorar?

in Freewriterslast year

Today I caught myself thinking about how many times I buy my books more for a consumerist impulse than actually because I'm going to read them. I will give a brief summary of my custom by reading to acquaint you with the matter.

I learned to read at four years old, before I climbed a tree for the first time, before I rode my bike alone for the first time, before I even stepped into a classroom for the first time. And, pardon my pride, but I was good at it, I didn't read by spelling, I was able to read fluidly and link syllables in the most natural way possible. In my school life, this custom continued, and I read much more advanced books than usual for my age, even reading classics like “The Name of the Rose” and “The Divine Comedy” even before I was 15 years old. .

Unfortunately, unlike today, when I was a teenager books were much more expensive and scarce, so I wasn't able to read everything I wanted whenever I wanted. For this reason, many authors I wanted to read, such as Lovecraft, Leblanc, Orwell and many others, were not within my reach, or, when I was, I had to wait weeks until it was my turn to check them out at a public library. This brought me some bad habits, like taking out more books than I am able to read in libraries, and buying many books monthly with my salary, now that I have the money to do so.

But what's the problem with that? I'm simply accumulating unread books in my house that I don't even know when I'll have time to read them. I feel as if my purchases only serve to decorate shelves and tables. And I know this is a problem, but I don't know how to avoid it, I don't know how to reduce these purchases, after all, I really like them, but I don't want to buy just for the sake of buying.

Just so you can have an idea, this month I bought four box sets and three hardcover books, in addition to having seven books borrowed from the local library (of which three I read half or used as a reference, one I'm reading now, one I read a little more than half and the others I didn't even read the first page) and I also downloaded more than 50 PDFs (these last ones I wasn't at fault, I'm doing a job and needed to use reference material to base myself on), so I think this situation is a bit over the top.

The impression I have, at the moment, is that I am much more accumulating books that I will only have time to read in a few months than actually buying books that I know I will read as soon as I get my hands on them. I feel like a hoarder, and that feeling is making me really uncomfortable.

Even so, I'm still glad I got so many good books, and I honestly hope I get to read them all soon. I don't intend to buy more books until I read at least a good part of the ones I have today, precisely so I don't become a compulsory consumer or a hoarder, so I think it's okay, isn't it?

And you? Anyone going through the same? Tell me in the comments 😄❤️


Me peguei hoje pensando em como muitas vezes eu compro meus livros mais por um ímpeto consumista do que de fato porque eu irei ler eles. Vou dar um breve resumo do meu costume por leitura para inteirar vocês do assunto.

Eu aprendi a ler aos quatro anos de idade, antes de subir em uma árvore pela primeira vez, antes de andar de bicicleta sozinho pela primeira vez, antes mesmo de pisar em uma sala de aula pela primeira vez. E, perdão pelo orgulho, mas eu era bom nisso, eu não lia soletrando, eu era capaz de ler de forma fluida e ligando as sílabas da forma mais natural possível. Na minha vida escolar, esse costume se manteve, e eu lia livros muito mais avançados do que o normal para minha idade, lendo até mesmo clássicos como “O Nome da Rosa” e “A Divina Comédia” antes mesmo dos meus 15 anos de idade.

Infelizmente, ao contrário de hoje, quando eu era adolescente os livros eram muito mais caros e escassos, então eu não era capaz de ler tudo o que eu quisesse na hora que eu quisesse. Por esse motivo, muitos autores que eu desejava ler, como Lovecraft, Leblanc, Orwell e muitos outros, não estavam ao meu alcance, ou, quando estava, tinha que esperar semanas até que chegasse minha vez de retirá-los em uma biblioteca pública. Isso me trouxe alguns hábitos ruins, como retirar mais livros do que sou capaz de ler em bibliotecas, e o de comprar muitos livros mensalmente com meu salário, agora que eu possuo dinheiro para tal.

Mas qual que é o problema disso? Simplesmente eu estou acumulando livros não lidos em minha casa que eu nem ao menos sei quando terei tempo para lê-los. Me sinto como se minhas compras só servissem para decorar estantes e mesas. E eu sei que isso é um problema, mas eu não sei como evitar isso, não sei como reduzir essas compras, afinal, eu realmente gosto deles, mas não quero comprar apenas por comprar.

Só para vocês terem uma ideia, esse mês eu comprei quatro box de livros e mais três livros de capa dura, além de ter sete livros retirados na biblioteca local (dos quais três eu li metade ou usei de referência, um eu estou lendo agora, um eu li até um pouco mais da metade e os outros eu nem sequer li a primeira página) e ainda baixei mais de 50 PDFs (esses últimos eu não tive culpa, estou fazendo um trabalho e precisei usar material de referência para me basear), então eu acho que essa situação está passando um pouco dos limites.

A impressão que eu tenho, no atual momento, é que eu estou muito mais acumulando livros que eu só vou ter tempo para ler daqui há alguns meses do que de fato comprando livros que eu sei que lerei assim que botar minhas mãos neles. Me sinto um acumulador, e essa sensação está me deixando realmente desconfortável.

Mesmo assim, ainda estou contente de ter conseguido tantos livros bons, e eu espero honestamente conseguir ler tudo em breve. Não pretendo comprar mais livros enquanto não ler ao menos boa parte dos que eu tenho hoje, justamente para não me tornar um consumista compulsório ou um acumulador, então acho que está tudo bem, não é mesmo?

E vocês? Alguém passando pelo mesmo? Conta pra mim nos comentários 😄❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89