You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Have a Sixth Sense You Probably Aren't Using Yet - MedScape

in Steem Links3 years ago

Earlier researchers had suggested another form of sixth sense, called proprioception.

Proprioception refers to how your brain understands where your body is in space. When police ask a drunken person to touch their finger to the tip of their nose, they're testing the sense of proprioception.

Here's the full article on Live Science A Sixth Sense? It's in Your Genes

Sort:  

Interesting. Thanks for the reply.

That seems more like an actual "sixth sense" to me than echolocation does, although proprioception still might just be an aggregation of input from the other senses. The article says that a gene determines how good we are at it, but I don't think it suggests a mechanism by which we accomplish it, except they imply that it's linked to the nervous system.

In common, both echolocation and proprioception are tested by observing how people move about without the use of sight.

 3 years ago 

I agree as well. This is apparently a distinct operation from the traditional five. It is my first time hearing of it tho, so I was elated to read more on the external link provided and I came across the PIEZO2 gene. I am yet to further my curiosity on this gene and its true work. I majored in Biology at college so this whole topic is fondly interesting for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65989.03
ETH 2622.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65