The value of your humanity in an automated future | Kevin Roose - TED

in Steem Links3 years ago (edited)

( October, 2020; TED )

To futureproof your job against robots and AI, you should learn how to code, brush up on your math skills and crack open an engineering textbook, right? Wrong. In this surprisingly comforting talk, tech journalist Kevin Roose makes the case that rather than trying to compete with the machines, we should instead focus on what makes us uniquely human.

Posted to RSS: February, 25, 2021

Watch the video or read the transcript from TED: The value of your humanity in an automated future | Kevin Roose

Sort:  

I share the perspective, and I enjoyed this talk. But what I got really interested in was the bookshelf.

I can highly recommend Team Human by Douglas Rushkoff, and although I don't remember as much from it, I recall enjoying Soonish.

There are a few on those shelves that I need to add to my reading list, too.

 3 years ago 

lol. I never even noticed the book shelf. I generally just listen to these videos while doing stuff in other tabs. The books sound interesting, though. Thanks for pointing that out!

Oh! I forgot to add that this reminded me of a WarGames rewatch recently. Although the technology seems about as antiquated now as it probably seemed cutting edge back then, overall this sci-fi thriller proves itself as a classic. It stands the test of time, and the article I posted here provides a good review indicating this: https://steemit.com/hive-160342/@primevaldad/wednesday-rewatch-wargames-still-plays-35-years-later

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97