How Mongolia Changed My Life

in zzan2 years ago

Desktop346-copy.jpg
Beautiful people, wide, empty landscapes, adorable horses, oh and yaks.

But above all, I was expecting to be challenged. Pretty much everyone I knew who had been to Mongolia had gone on a organized driving tour in a big furgon or jeep, most of them to the Gobi Desert or just crossed Mongolia on the Trans-Siberian railroad.

Shuffled from ger (yurt) to ger with ramshackle itineraries and tight schedules, those experiences didn’t seem genuine to me and completely turned me off.
IMG_6718-copy-2.jpg

G0426581-copy-3.jpg
I wanted to see the real Mongolia. I wanted to get dirty. I wanted to go to the places where no one spoke English and people yanked my blonde hair without my permission because it’s a rare sight to them.
GOPR6481_2-copy.jpg

Desktop348-copy.jpg
Now yes you can argue that Mongolia is pretty out there in and of itself, but since the 90’s there’s been a well-trodden tourist trail around it. I don’t know about you but I don’t like tourist trails.

But if you’re keen to dig a little deeper without doing it completely on your own, Zavkhan can make that happen.
IMG_1209-copy-3.jpg

IMG_1692-copy.jpg

IMG_0384-copy-2-copy.jpg
Even as I packed my bag for Mongolia, I realized this would be different. Between my sleeping bag and mat, several merino wool layers (10 day underwear – the best!) and the 14 batteries and extra portable chargers, I was ready to disconnect and go off the grid.

I took a blank notebook again. This past year I had gotten out of the habit of writing my travel experiences by hand, being too rushed and too busy to take the time to process everything.

This trip would be different.
IMG_7285-copy-2.jpg

IMG_6878-copy-2.jpg
Nothing in life is easy, and the things you want the most are often the hardest to achieve.

Before meeting me, people often assume I am some crazy adventurous person, but I’m here to tell you, I am not.

I am an ordinary girl with no special skills or gifts. I am not fearless, in fact I get quite afraid of a lot of things, especially this past year (thought that’s a story for another day). I have doubts, I worry, and to be honest, I am pretty clumsy, not super fit or that organized. I also cry a lot, usually in really awkward situations.

IMG_1685-copy.jpg

Desktop343-copy.jpg
Surviving Mongolia and loving it, even the fucking river crossings and sheep soup 24/7 all while smelling like socks made me think, hey I can actually do these things AND I like it. Hey, I am stronger than I realized. Be proud, Liz.

Like my pep talk?

So now it’s time to write my own story. What will be my next adventure? What challenge can I find overseas that will inspire me as much as this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36