Thoughts and Observations (about chess)steemCreated with Sketch.

The Story

I have come to understand that everything about chess is a story. That why most of my chess post include an appropriate story. So please read, understand and enjoy my story below.

There was a time when it was very difficult to find equal or better chess players to play against. A small group of three or four chess players who were nearly equally in strength would be a great group. The rule of the day was best two out of three and the loser would have to watch the next two out of three games. Now a match would sometimes be played over multiple days but the rotation would remain. There would always be other games played but the only ones that matter was the games in the rotation. Games played against other players didn’t really count.

Anyone in the group could bring in another player to the rotation. That new player only had to play well and win some games to be included in the rotation. Some of the best times were after a match was finished and everyone in the group had different opinions about the good and the bad moves and the different options. There was no discussion of any games until the match was over. Also when there were genuine disagreements the situation could easily be setup for play and demonstration. These demonstrations of play were often better than the actual game. The one rule that had to be followed was that no one could replay more than one situation. This replay didn’t happen often but when it did it was a very enjoyable fight.

Online Chess

Today with online chess there is almost an unlimited number of very strong players to play with at any time. Also not to mention the very strong chess engines. The times I talk about above were in the early 70’s. Of course there were no chess engines or online chess. All chess games were played across the table from your opponent.

The Groups

When the group grew to over five there would be two rotating matches. The losers would rotate from table to table. There were always a full argument and discussion over principle of play between all players. This was a great undeclared casual chess club, even though we never called ourselves a chess club. I like to think I asserted a lot of influence on the group’s directions with my all out aggressive play. I personally adopted my mentor philosophy and his aggressive play as my own. As we played many games and discussed many chess principle, tactics, opening, end games and much more than I can remember. The basics of his philosophy were that; I will share everything I know but I will still out play you.

Today there are many formal chess clubs and organization; however, I know that great format of old with a small group of strong players could be a great learning experience in any time period.

Please Feel Free To Add Your Story

Just Tell The Story

@rodrook

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66