Sketching John Boyega (Daily Drawing Challenge day 5: Movie Star)

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Hello people! As my entry to the 5th day of the #dailydrawingchallenge I have made a quick sketch of John Boyega using an older reference picture!

IMG_20200705_215736.jpg

For most John Boyega needs no introduction, he's a very talented and versatile young actor who has featured in many movies, the biggest of which is Star Wars. I've been following him from his debut in "Attack the block" and I'm so glad he's come this far.

For this drawing I decided to use strokes only unlike my usual blending technique.

I started with the sketch as usual a graphite pencil...
IMG_20200705_210922.jpg

I went on the shade the hair with charcoal using both straight and circular strokes to get that wavy hair look

IMG_20200705_211530.jpg

Then I started applying strokes to bring out the values on the face, first to the darkest areas. It makes it easier to point out the other mid tone values when the lightest and darkest have been established.

IMG_20200705_213444.jpg

On and on till I was satisfied, I kept adding strokes in layers.
Medium: Charcoal on paper

I'm glad I was able to do this tonight though there was barely any time, I got good motivation from the challenge and I'm happy to be a part of it, it's never too late to join us!

Watch this space for more art

PEACE ✌🏽

Sort:  

DSC01866_2_2.jpg
Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture , rewarded by the Steem Community Curation Project ( @steemcurator08 ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31