Self Portrait Drawing - In Pencil and Charcoal

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone sharing with you a fairly recent pencil and charcoal drawing self portrait. I wanted to practice drawing portraits from life and there isn't always someone who will sit still long enough so I usually end up practicing by drawing myself. It is a pretty useful exercise that you can learn a lot from and you can see how your styles change over time.

Myself 2.jpg

The drawing was done looking at the mirror in one process with no breaks so unfortunately do not have any process photos. It can be quite difficult to look in a mirror and draw what you see. My process involves a few rough lines for the general outline and then add more details as I progress the drawing. It can be a bit of a leap of faith in getting the proportions accurately but with practice it becomes intuitive and with less effort.

This was one of my drawings during the process but the quality is quite blurry.
IMG_20190913_1519429421.jpg
It took be about 1.5 - 2 hours to complete. The initial sketch did not take long maybe 10 minutes however, adding shading and details increased the time. I tried to follow what I have learned in previous exercises by following the contours of my face as I was drawing however, I did not want it to become too rigid and that's where gesture drawing comes in. I wanted my drawing to be expressive compared to previous portraits I have done when drawing from an image that can look a bit lifeless.

Here are some close ups of the portrait.
Myself 1.jpg
When drawing it requires a lot of concentration to get right so I end up looking quite serious.
Myself 3.jpg
The paper quality comes through a bit on this one so next time I will draw with higher quality paper. Once the pencil drawing was complete I go over the darkest parts with charcoal and a rubber for the highlights to create a greater variation in tones

This is the way the finished piece turned out.
IMG20190912WA0011.jpg

Thanks for checking out my post and for your support! :)

--Ian

This is a cross post of @iansart/self-portrait-drawing-in-pencil-and-charcoal by @iansart.

Cross Post of my original post

Sort:  

I love your detailing. I have always gone for smooth texture and whenever I try rough texture it goes horribly wrong. And drawing myself by looking in the mirror is something I can only imagine right now. How hard must that have been.

Thanks, it was quite tricky but will continue to practice and learned a lot from drawing from life. I would recommend it even though it's hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48