STEEM PLANTS Contest Week 10 - An Orange Delight

in Stars3 years ago

Hello everyone. Welcome to Week 10 of this very challenging STEEM PLANTS CONTEST hosted by @knopka145. The contest rules are as follows:

Rules:

  1. Write a post about a plant that you have at home, with your friend, at work, or you saw this plant once on vacation.
  2. The message can be written in any language.
  3. The message must be original, not contain plagiarism. Photos used in the post must be taken by you.
  4. Leave a link to your post, as well as one photo in the comments section (to @knopka145's post for Week 10).
  5. Please submit only one application per week.
  6. All applications must be sent by the end of Wednesday 21 April.
  7. Use tags #steemplants #steemplantscontest

And so for this week, the plant I will feature is actually not a small one but a really big one. In fact, when it matures it grows into a very big tree. But before I show this to you, let me show you why I was interested with this plant. It was because of its flower. See photos below.

Lots For Less Flower 1.jpg

Lots For Less Flower 2.jpg

They looked like orchids to me at first glance but I knew it couldn't be because there were no orchid plants around the area. This flower actually was just lying on the ground when I first saw it and picked it up.

Lots For Less Flower 3.jpg

I was in a parking lot of a commercial building complex and I began to search where this flower came from. After looking around, I realized it came from a tree right at the entrance of the parking lot.

Lots For Less Tree 1.jpg

Lots For Less Tree 2.jpg

I Googled this to find out what it is. It turns out it is commonly known as the African tulip tree. Its scientific name is Spathodea campanulata under the Bignoniaceae family. It is still considered a plant. This tree can grow to as high as 25 meters tall. It is native to Africa but has spread worldwide as it was introduced for its ornamental value. It flowers profusely, specially during the summer months. I can't wait to see how this tree will look like in a few months time.

Here's another look at the flower.

Lots For Less Flower 4.jpg

And that's it for this Week. I hope you liked it. Wishing all the other participants to this contest good luck. May you all have a blessed weekend.

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

Hello! :) this tree is so big that I'm afraid I also wouldn't have noticed its beautiful flowers until they fell under my feet. it's great that you learned something new about this wonderful plant :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42