Couple Art & Photography Contest - My Entry

in Steemit City3 years ago

There are certain events that are milestones in a man's life. One of them is birth, the other is marriage, and a third is death. Today, as a response to @msharif's Couple Art & Photography Contest, I am telling the story of how I began my marriage rites...

Well, without much ado then, here is my story.

Dear Friends, this is the story of My Introduction...


DSC_2448.JPG


Traditionally, among the Yoruba speaking people in the South West of Nigeria, when a woman is to be married, two key events are observed. The first of these events is the introduction ceremony.

In the introduction ceremony, as the name implies, the lady getting married invites her intended groom's family over to be introduced to her family.

Over the years, there have been basically two types of introduction done amongst the Yoruba; the one done indoors, and that which is done outdoors. The former is usually a small, brief event while the latter involves more traditional razzmatazz and partying of some sort.

Mine, as the pictures surely depict, was done outdoors.


DSC_2453.JPG


The event started with an Alaga (the Yoruba version of an MC or Master of Ceremony, but one who specializes in such occasions as weddings) asking my family members to perform the traditional practice of "Knocking the door". In reality, what that means is that the family should put a few things (specifically money) on the ground as a symbolic gesture for "knocking the door" of the bride's family.

This was then followed by a repeat performance for myself (the intended groom) and my friends who accompanied me.

Of course I had to knock the door as well... Unless I didn't want to marry.


DSC_2316.JPG


Afterwards, they made me dance my heads off (or pay a fine)... and thereafter they asked I and my friends to "dobale" (prostrate) before the bride's parents as proof of our seriousness in marrying their daughter.

Oh well, we did...

Then, and only then, did they allow my lady to come out of the house...


DSC_2370.JPG


Then she danced, her friends with her... and at some point I had to invite myself as well... Lol, I couldn't help it...


DSC_2433.JPG


Then when the dancing was done, the real introduction began. Each important family member was introduced, and then the families prayed for the intending couple, gifts were brought and exchanged...

And at a point, I honestly got too engulfed in the event and the afternoon sun to know the details of all what was going on.

The pictures, I believe, tell the rest of the story.

DSC_2321.JPG

DSC_2609.JPG

DSC_2417.JPG

DSC_2454.JPG

DSC_2445.JPG

DSC_2405.JPG

DSC_2379.JPG

DSC_2438.JPG

DSC_2513.JPG

DSC_2555.JPG

DSC_2556.JPG

DSC_2612.JPG

DSC_2439.JPG

Thanks for reading. Next stop is the traditional engagement proper.

All pictures were taken by an iPhone 7 plus camera.

#SladenSpeaks

Sort:  

Polish_20210425_125239192.jpg

Your post has been upvoted by @wo-photography courtesy of @sabbirrr

JOIN WITH US ON DISCORD SERVER:

Support us by delegating STEEM POWER.
20 SP50 SP100 SP250 SP500 SP

Follow @wo-photography & @steemitblog for last updates

 3 years ago 

Amazing and happy couple. Thank you for participations.

Polish_20210421_055334364.jpg

Your post has been selected for booming support.

JOIN WITH US ON DISCORD SERVER:

We are supporting you. Support us too by delegating STEEM POWER. Your Delegation is not for free. You will get Juicy Reward. Click Here For more Details
20 SP50 SP100 SP250 SP500 SP

Follow @wo-photography & @steemitblog for last updates

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56215.99
ETH 2973.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27