The iconic symbol of the University of the Philippines

in Steemit City3 years ago

I took these photos way back 2018 when I took the college entrance exam in University of the Philippines. It was a very gloomy day, actually I remember that it was quite raining hard that day and we (I was with my three friends who also took the exam) didn't bring any umbrella.

image.png

This is the Oblation, a famous statue by Philippine National Artist Guillermo Tolentino. There is an urban legend about this statue. There are stories that if you're a UP student, you shouldn't take a photo of yourself with this statue because if you do so, you won't be able graduate on time or ever. But despite that tale, Oblation in fact is an iconic symbol of University of the Philippines as it depicts a man facing upward with arms outstretched, symbolizing selfless offering of oneself to his country.

image.png

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to attend this school and just attended a nearby university at my province but I guess I'm still lucky that I was able to capture these photos.

image.png

I captured all of these using my phone. Whenever I see these photos, memories of that day vividly flashes through me and I can still remember the feelings that I had when I took them.

image.png

And I just want to share it to all of you. What do you think about these photos?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40