HOW I SPEND MY CHRITMAS HOLIDAYS

in Steemit City3 years ago (edited)

The holidays are usually days of relaxation and rest but with I think all holidays deserve a spice of fun.

holiday intro.jpg

.Most of my holidays are spent mostly at my house in Onitsha, Anambra state . The only place i get to spend the holidays is in my home town of Adazi-enu and it happens only during the Christmas holiday . A nice little village located in Anaocha local government area , Anambra state .
Each holiday was always filled with visiting of cousins and outings but it always followed a similar pattern . we always arrived on the 24th December . we always attended the vigil mass ahead of Christmas day on the 25th. normally we went with our parents but of recent ,the boys, that is I and my two siblings and a friend decided to be going alone. honestly, the boring 24th night has turned into a night we have fun and make noise along the roads of my village and made fun videos . i really love those nights .
The 25th is always a normal day . Wake anytime you want and see food already prepared by mum . if you want to go out you go if not you seat your ass at home. I am getting to the fun part now though. The 26th of every December , its practically one of the two days i cant imagine missing honestly . it starts off annoying though cause i have to attend the kinsmen meeting in the village with my dad cause I am the first born and I am above 10 years. Honestly those meeting are very borrrinngg. I always found a way to escape in the middle of the meeting. the fun begins in the evening. Our neighboring town , Neni hosts a masquerade festival known as EZI AJA day every 26th December .

holiday 1.jpg

On this day masquerade from all corners of the village come out to perform . You see all kinds like the EJERE masquerade that could change his height as he wishes. I am still curious to know the mechanics behind that .

holiday 2.jpg

They also have the ADAMMA masquerade , I heard that females cant wear masquerade but this masquerade dances like a female even better than a standard female dancer . there are many more but i think if i list all, person fit book ticket de come my side ( booking transport to reach my village ). These masquerades are actually the big ones , the ones that actually spice up the event is the small ones . Anytime I remember them I laugh , these things can you run for Africa. they go around with their long painful canes and demand small money from you for appeasement or risk the wrath of hearing strokes of cane on any part of your behind oooo. I remember one particular 26th December , I ran and I can swear Usain Bolt was nothing near me that day . I and my brothers had trekked to the event center and then came this devilish masquerade. It stood at the end of a pathway that people must pass and most of us were kids there and so had no money and to avoid the cane we kept timing this thing to go built this thing would do as if its going and once he notice we have started moving too it came back. we kept going TO and FRO honestly . it was a moment in my life I will always remember . We ended up getting a chance to snap with the masquerade together .

holiday 4.jpg

The masquerade event happens on three particular days during the December and early January period , on the 27th ,29th of December and 1st January. those days are days I can't miss for anything .

The second event of the holidays I love a lot too is end of the year party of my father's age grade group which happens on the 31st of every December . It is a eat until you are tired event and please local man loves eating. you get to taste all variety of food without paying a dime and you also get to dance . its really a big part of my Christmas holidays .

holiday 3.jpg

The picture is me all dressed for the event . The remaining days of the holiday is me visiting families or staying indoors until its time to go back to town . hope to get some of my friends to come over . I want to thank @sm-shagor for creating an opportunity for me to express this.

Sort:  

Your hometown sounds like a fun place to be

Yes😌😌
You can come try it

Polish_20210425_125239192.jpg

Your post has been upvoted by @wo-photography courtesy of @sabbirrr

JOIN WITH US ON DISCORD SERVER:

Support us by delegating STEEM POWER.
20 SP50 SP100 SP250 SP500 SP

Follow @wo-photography & @steemitblog for last updates

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16