Contest:🌲Planting trees saves the environment @advokate🌳

in Steemit City3 years ago (edited)

Greetings great minds

PLANT A TREE

I am specially thanking @sabbirrr for coming up with this wonderful idea of planting of trees as a contest.

Firstly, I am an Environmental Biologist in the making in Rivers State University Port Harcourt, I am being trained to help educate and keep nature as it is.
I believe this contest will encourage many Steemians partaking in this contest to plant a tree and which will offer so many advantages to our environment.

BRIEF DESCRIPTION ABOUT THE TREE I PLANTED

IMG_20210509_161819_2.jpg
For the sake of this contest I decided to plant an ornamental plant called Terminalia mantaly gives shades like an umbrella, it's a popular avenue tree for landscaping in large area, this tree place belongs to the family Combretaceae. This ornamental tree plant with conspicuously branches in erect stem can grow up to 20m high, it bears whorl of branches growing in layers at right angle.

HOW I GOT THIS LITTLE FLOWER TREE

I got this flower free as charge from a horticulturist friend that nurse flower seeds of parent plants.
IMG_20210509_161846_4.jpg

HOW I PLANTED THIS TREE

I choose a suitable site where this tree is really needed to be planted in other to help in controlling erosion. I dug a good sizeable hole with my knife and I transferred the plant to the hole I dug and I covered the root part of the stem with sand. I didn't border to water the tree because we are in rainy season in the Niger Delta part of Nigeria
IMG_20210509_162036_5.jpg
IMG_20210509_162214_1.jpg

WHY I CHOOSE TO PLANT THIS TREE (Terminalia mantaly) OVER OTHER TREES AND THE SITE I PLANTED IT.

I know planting a cash crop would be economical, serve as source of income, provide food for humans but the nature of the site require plants that can actively serve as remedy to soil erosion within a short period of time, this tree Terminalia mantaly grows faster to serve this function. The site I planted this tree is slopy, from the pictures I shared, you would observed that the site is actually experiencing erosion and needed a mitigation measure to this effect, so I used the tree as a mitigation measure. I choose this tree plant because it helps to control soil erosion and it has a longer and larger whorl branches which prevents rain from falling directly to the soil which might cause loosing the compatibility of the soil making it easy for erosion to occur.

The tree is an ornamental fast growing tree which gives shades like an umbrella and provide shades during the dry season when the weather is hot.

BENEFITS OF PLANTING TREES (especially Terminalia mantaly)

  1. It helps to purify the atmosphere, animals like humans take in oxygen that is released by plants and plants take in carbon-dioxide which is released by humans during respiration. This helps to purify our environment. So if there is no enough plants to take in carbon-dioxide released by humans, the atmosphere will be polluted with carbon-dioxide.
  2. Terminalia mantaly is medicinal plant and it's used in making dye. Trees serves as habitat for other living organisms like birds. Trees generally beautifies the environment and helps cool down the environment when it is hot, thereby helping to control and reduce global warming as a result of human activities.
  3. Trees helps control the action of erosion
  4. Trees helps to shield humans and other living organisms from harmful ultra violet rays
  5. Trees are used for furniture and for building houses.
  6. In my areas, trees help to reduce to toxic effect of black soot from illegal refining of crude oil.

I urge and encourage everyone to plant trees at any appropriate site in their vicinity in any single opportunity they get.

IMG_20210509_162333_0.jpg

Let's help preserve nature as it is,
Plant a tree today.

I am happy to share this with you.
Thank you all for reading
Have a wonderful day.

Phone cameraTecno LA7
Sort:  

Polish_20210425_125239192.jpg

Your post has been upvoted by @wo-photography courtesy of @sabbirrr

JOIN WITH US ON DISCORD SERVER:

Support us by delegating STEEM POWER.
20 SP50 SP100 SP250 SP500 SP

Follow @wo-photography & @steemitblog for last updates

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61609.18
ETH 3390.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48