Work and the flow

in Be Awesome4 years ago (edited)

The best thing about work is that it is a constant. It provides a kind of reflection of what is going on inside me beyond my own conscious awareness. When it’s smooth, I can focus on other things. When it’s not, I know it’s probably time to work on myself, meditate more and learn how to go with the flow or when to make a change.

It’s something to push up against, something to provide some contrast.

Some times I get swamped with way too many classes and I have to put everything else aside. It teaches me perseverance. Sometimes the classes are boring or I’m just not in the mood. It teaches me patience. Sometimes it’s a pleasure and that teaches me gratitude. Sometimes it’s all over the place and that teaches me flexibility.

As steem, crypto, writing, and music become a more viable way for me to earn money, the same applies more and more to those. I find it interesting that how successful I am with my creativity is often a direct reflection of how I respond to my work as a teacher. The more I appreciate it and the more I take it seriously, the more roads seem to open up.

As much as I wanted to focus this month on writing, having a friend in town who wants to make music together and has a lot to teach me makes it more than obvious to me that music should be the priority right now. And it’s paying off, I’ve made huge leaps in my playing.

These past few days I felt a pull towards staying out late with my friend and subsequently being really sleepy and needing a nap after work.

To be honest, going out and playing isn’t immediately attractive to me. Most days I feel playing around too much will take time away from my personal work, whether it’s writing or meditating or studying or practicing. But I feel I am constantly growing with this friend around and so a potluck last night became a impromptu jam session as it often does.

His appearance in my life is also a sign that I need to be more social. It keeps the energy flowing.

-I+Everything
2175D05E1CC44B838223336F861D6330.jpeg
pexels

Sort:  

Yay for huge leaps in playing :D

Just remember what they say about all work and no play. Whoever they are XD

It makes Zack a dull boy ;>)

 4 years ago 

I knew that movie was about me

 4 years ago 

What’s work and what’s play! It all makes me excited!!!

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.157 which ranks you at #979 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 982).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 86 contributions, your post is ranked at #14.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58971.18
ETH 3225.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29