Never Feel bad

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE3 years ago

IMG-20211116-WA0055.jpg

Don't feel bad when people tend to get ahead of you or have a upper hand over you. September 14th, 2009 was my first day in secondary school.

I was very young and small. My eldest sisters were somewhat lucky, unlike me, they attended good schools. I was stubborn and naughty. So I was sent to a public secondary school.

But I used to hear my sisters have discussions about science subjects. On one of those days, I heard my sister say that the scientific name or botanical name for "maize/corn" is "zea mays".

Conversations like this between my sisters were regular. So before I started secondary school, I knew a handful of some scientific names of plants and animals. My first subject in my first day in secondary school was agriculture. During the class, the teacher talked about a lot of things in agricultural science and she asked in passing, the botanical name for maize.

That was my glory moment. She expected no one to know. Of course, no one was expected to know. We had just come in and this was not even part of the things to learn that term in agriculture. But for an ambitious, bold and a boy with a good background, I knew it.

I can still recall the shock in my teacher's face and the resounding clap from my classmates when the teacher said I was correct in my answer the moment I stood up to say it.

This indeed reveals the way life is. Some people have good and better background over others. Many of my classmates would have felt sad and perhaps not good enough to be in class with such a brilliant boy on their first day in class.

But they wouldn't know I knew very little, I was just privy to good information early enough.

So dear folks, don't feel bad when you see people seem to do better than you, people who are born on the mountain have a clearer view of the plain than those ascending the mountains.

Take it easy on yourself, compete but don't put yourself under unnecessary pressure. You're good enough, just that you are not yet exposed to certain thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99