Steemit Engagement Challenge S5-W3: “If Only”steemCreated with Sketch.

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago

Edited with photocollage

A great week with a beautiful topic “IF ONLY ” I'm so happy to start this week's engagement challenge contest here in this very community. Indeed we all have made use of this statement in one way or the other, and mostly we use the statement when we took a decision that is not right and later regret our actions. Everyone has made a mistake in life and I am not an exception to that.

Life has its way of dealing with humans if we are not careful, enough to know that there are some things we should do at the right time if not we will later regret why we did not do them when we had the opportunity at a plater of gold. But we are humans and most time we take decisions that in the end, it will live us with the statement “if only”


If only I listened to my parents

What went wrong?

I am the only child of my parent and I lost my dad when was too young, my mother stood by me and she made sure that I don't lack anything life has to offer. After secondary school, I wanted to be a medical doctor which my mum was fully in support of that but as time goes on getting admission into the medical school was very difficult, I stayed at home for two years waiting for admission, and not as if I did not meet up with all the requirement, my jamb and O- level results were perfectly ok, but getting the admission was just the issue.

My mum later advised me to go to school for nursing since I was having a passion for the medical line but I was very stubborn not to listen to her advice I was still at home applying for the same medical course not knowing that time is not by my side, after four years of staying back at home doing nothing I come to realize that what my mum was saying back then was just the fact but I did not listen. I was just carried away with what I want not minding God's plans for my life.
One day I decided and I was fully ready to apply for the school of nursing but it was late for me because the form was not on sale and I was so tired of staying at home while my mate were almost finishing their first degree. Without much wasting time, I went ahead to apply for a different course which I never wanted at the federal university Wukari, I was not given admission that year I was so devastated because I had the opportunity of studying at the school of nursing but my stubbornness did not allow me. If only I listen to my mum's advice things could have been better for me.

I never gave up though not until I was given admission to study computer science, I wanted to reject the admission but I thought of what happened in the past years. If only I listen to my mum's advice I could have finished my school of nursing and by now I will apply for medicine but I was so eager to do things the way I want not knowing it will affect me in the other way.

Seriously I regret my actions that year and if only I can turn the hands of the clock I will make it right but what has passed has already passed. The only thing left for me now is to try my best and always listen to others' opinions in other to avoid this statement “If only”

Thank you..

I invite my friends to come and take part in this contest.
@mjerry
@temitopef
@josepha

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Accepting the past and moving on is a gift. It is okay to show remorse, which you have done. The good here is that you have learned from your mistake and I know you will instil this knowledge gained into the next generation.

We can't change the past, not just yet as we can't do that, but we can change the present and the future by learning from the past. Thank you for sharing with every one of us. I wish you the best life has in store for you. Go on be great. 😍

 2 years ago 

You are right sir, we cant change the past but the only thing one can do is to move on and forget the past. i have actually learned from my mistakes.

Thank you for visiting my blog, i'm most grateful.

 2 years ago 

Hello

I really enjoyed reading your publication, I am excited to see how important Steemit has been in your life, really having a home is essential for every person and more when we have a family.

Thank God you have been able to build your house, little by little, but steadily and very important also the support of your father in law who fortunately is a builder. Everything aligns to make our heart's dreams come true.

Much success and blessings.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

 2 years ago 

Our mothers will always want the best for us, only sometimes we think we are right and she makes us see that it is not so.
There is no need to regret what could not be, the important thing is that you are studying and that you understood that time was going to continue to pass without results.

Greetings.

 2 years ago 

You are right ma'am, mothers always knows what is best for their children. Thank you for your kind words.

Best regards ❤

 2 years ago 

Yeah, maybe your thoughts were right at your side at the time. But sometimes we just not have to think what is right or not, by ourselves. Sometimes our parents decide and suggest us good. After all we all are human so they and we can be do mistake. But how long they lived, their experience is more than our thinking. If only we get this in our mind.

 2 years ago 

You have said it all sir, and i'm so glad you went through my article. Thank you.

 2 years ago 

Life is beautiful. At the same time, it is difficult to understand. That is why people often say no one knows tomorrow except God, meaning all our hopes, worries, etc should be directed at God.
Stubbornness is not a good way to deal with problems, and I believe your mother has some experience with it. You know the situation in our country, how someone's dreams can easily fade away. I know a guy on my street who wanted to study medicine and surgery but ended up studying anatomy after several failed admissions attempts. You have shared with us a very important story. Best of luck to you.

 2 years ago 

Seriously stubbornness is not good because i know how it's affected me back then. Thank you for your good comments i really appreciate.

 2 years ago 

I am glad to greet you, hey when we are young is when we make the most mistakes and then we regret so much for our stubbornness, impulsiveness, we do not take advantage of opportunities, we do not listen to our parents because we believe that we have the world in our hands.

Ironically it is not like that, but we learn from it all, you could not be a nurse but you took advantage of the next train to study and moved on.

 2 years ago (edited)

Thank you for the wonderful comments ma'am its highly appreciated.

TEAM 3 CURATORS

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator06.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @simonnwigwe

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the support sir.

 2 years ago 

My dear I feel your pains because I know how it feel to loss someone whom you loved so much. I couldn't hold it the day I heard that my mom is no more. You have written well. I wish you best of luck.

Thank God today you are now a graduate.

 2 years ago 

Hummm, it is well my dear friend God knows the best. I'm sorry for the lost of your mum. Thank you for visiting my blog.

Loading...
 2 years ago 

There is a lot to learn from this story. One of which is to always listen to other's advice especially those older than us even when we think we are right. Most times our parents know what is best for us.

 2 years ago 

I'm happy you learned something from my story, thank you very much for passing by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94