Steemit Engagement Challenge S9-W3| "Kindness that changed my life"

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFElast year

What is the value of life (52).jpg
Free Pixabay images, Edited in Canva

Hi friends, I hope we are all doing well. It is nice joining the community as I make my contribution to the contest topic in view. I must commend this community for the topic "Kindness that Changed My Life". It is one way to give credit and appreciates those important moments people around us came through for us. Life should be us and people that endeavor to make positive memories with us. Every time spent wrongly cannot be regained and hence we should try to live a life filled with positive moments.

Guys, let's get started with the publication of the day using the required guidelines as stipulated by the organizers.

What was the act of kindness that impacted your life? Describe the situation,

I have experienced an act of kindness and for that matter a very strong one that influenced my present stay in life. After my graduation and compulsory national youth service corps, we all know the terrain of my dear continent Africa and country Nigeria in securing jobs. Securing jobs even at this moment is something that requires extraordinary effort for an average Nigerian and an easy hurdle for the political class and the rich in the society.

All this time while I was busy throwing in applications, this family friend of mine called that I should go and submit my CV to a telecommunication company. I was reluctant to do this after several disappointing returns from the ones I have already done. On a fateful day, after she must have asked me to go submit this CV, she decided to come to the house herself to pick up the hard copies of my CV.

She went straight herself to submit this CV in the telecommunication office and together with hers. This was the breaking point for me. This particular act of kindness to me, by coming to pick up my hardcopies was a breaker for me. Behold, when names were shortlisted, I was selected and unfortunately, this kind soul was not shortlisted. It pained me but I saw she was even more interested that I got the offer than both of us losing out.

My present career path today was singular to this act of kindness from this family friend. This was an exceptional act and remains indelible to me in all I do.

image.png
Free Pixabay images

What were the emotions you were feeling at that time?

It was a double feeling for me at this moment. Firstly, the selfless act of kindness that I enjoyed at that moment. I felt loved and cared for just because of the extra effort she put in to make sure at least this job offering worked out for us. It further bonded us then.

Secondly, the joy of securing a job was overwhelming after countless trials at that moment. Anyone in my shoes would understand that it is one thing to apply and the other to get an offer. It was indeed a fulfilled one for me at that moment and a time to break forth into the career space.

How did that act impact you? (Financially, emotionally, etc.)

This very act of kindness brought a relatively stable emotional status for me. All the sad mood that was ordinarily seen disappeared as soon as I got this offer. The most impact that this act f kindness brought was financial freedom. It enabled me to change the narrative as soon as I begin to earn from it.

As a young man who just started his career life, this did not only move me away from home but also allowed me to rent accommodation of my own. This impact brought about shelter, feeding, and other obligations that I have enjoyed today. The impact is indeed all-encompassing and worthy of remembrance.

What are the lessons you learned from that incident? Did it change your perspective on kindness and the way you treat others

This act f kindness only encouraged me to do more for others. I believe giving light to others is a better way of reaching out other than shining light. Since my assumption of this job, I have been able to onboard about 10 other persons into the job when the opportunity shows up. These are people I do not know about but people who showed interest or happens to be around during the opening.

It pays to give light to others as no one owns it all or knows what tomorrow holds for us. The people we show acts of kindness are likely people that would hold our heads high in times of trouble. No one is an Ireland, we should treat people better and let them know that they matter.

Did you manage to pass it forward by showing kindness to others? How?

Yes, just as I have already mentioned above. This act is already inborn in me. However, it encouraged me to do more and extend my hands of fellowship to those who also require the same opportunity to thrive. In my counting, about 10 persons have been reached out in the same capacity. I feel happy each time I see these ones and also when I am in a position to lend a hand of fellowship to them.

At present, these people who were at that time in my location have been posted out of the station to other locations. Some have resigned and gotten better offers and others traveled abroad for greener pastures and career advancement.

Thank you

Sort:  
Loading...

With great emotion we notify you that this article has been curated by @harferri, member of team #2 at 30%. Your content is amazing, keep working hard to opt for the weekly top.

Voting date: 02/05/2023

image.png

 last year 

hello my friend @xkool24
Generosity is something that everyone needs to possess this noble quality. Due to which we can cooperate with each other for the sake of humanity. Thank you very much for sharing your publication with us and I wish you success in the competition.

 last year 

Thank you., friend for stopping by.
Good to have your quality comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61938.24
ETH 2404.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53