A Mistake I Made and What I Have Learned

How do you view mistakes?

IMG_20231129_064354_176.jpg

Personally I feel mistakes are almost inevitable, in one way or the other we really can't escape from it. Consciously or unconsciously we will definitely make mistakes but what matters most is that we learn from it so it doesn't repeat itself.

What mistake do you make recently?

So, Let me start this way ; this happened way back when I was a 200 level student in the department of nursing science. I naturally always want to put my best in everything I do because I believe " Anything worth doing is worth doing well".

My first semester in the year two had to be one of the best semesters so far. The courses were so interesting and bulky, it had to be one of the most demanding semesters so far. Our classes will usually be from eight o'clock down to five o'clock.We all anticipated the end of this semester already. I didn't have a favourite course but I found some quite interesting to read and some quite difficult to read.

The semester started around September,we all went for Christmas break in December, while our exams were in January. During the holiday I made sure I studied like the exams were to be taken next day, but there was this course I neglected and paid less attention to because of how bulky it was and our lecturer didn't complete the course outline, so the course wasn't so easy but our senior colleagues advised us on the massive failure usually recurring on the course.

As soon as we returned from home the timetable was out and exams were fast approaching. We usually had chained exams from Monday to Friday or some week Tuesday to Friday just so we could meet up since the time frame for the exams was short and our courses were like 12 some had theory and practical aspects which we will still write separately on exams day.

pexels-ketut-subiyanto-4560092.jpg
Source

I had to cover all the courses before exams because I knew it wouldn't be possible to read in just a night.

The exams finally started and it went well because all my efforts and sleepless nights were really paying off. I wrote my papers confidently till my last paper which was where I made the mistake. The last paper was the course I neglected, the day preceding the last paper, I finished my exams by six o'clock in the evening, I was so tired and I slept with the hope that I will wake up at night to read, unfortunately,I slept till morning and it was an 8 o'clock exams, I was sad because I had about five topics left to read before the examination and the lecturer never taught the topic.

My confidence was so low in the examination hall, I already started regretting why I did not read. We took the test and examination on the same day as soon as I saw the test questions, it wasn't that tough, I started answering it being that it was a multiple choice question examination. After the test we were about to start the examination, I became so tensed, my friend asked me to calm down that he read the course very and will offer help where necessary. I became a bit better, I finally got my question paper and tears clouded my eyes because the exams were paper type and my question was different from my friend's question. The most frustrating aspect was the fact that my paper type contained the topics I didn't read only a few questions were from the topic I read. My friend concentrated on his paper because the exam was for a limited time while I faced mine alone.

The mistake I made was neglecting a course and taking others seriously. In that examination hall I reflected on how good my entire exam was until I messed it up with this one course. I just realized that everything should be treated as important for one to be at the top. This doesn't only apply in academics but whatever we decide to do, be it a trade, business and at any point in life. We shouldn't neglect even the slightest thing we feel is less important.

pexels-gustavo-fring-4173335.jpg

Source

What do you learn from the mistake?

What I learnt from my mistake is that even the slightest mistake counts because I had all A's in my results but a C in that course and it didn't sit well with me at all.
I'm now so intentional about everything I do and I take nothing for granted . It was a lesson I won't forget in a hurry.

I am grateful to be able to write for your reading pleasure. I thank the coordinator of the contest in the person of @goodybest for this great topic. I also invite @zekanem, @vudeme123 and @uzma4882 to comment on my post and participate in this contest.

God bless you all.

Sort:  

Wow this is so educative and captivating
Mistakes are Almost inevitable actually but I feel it's the positive step to corrections that matters alot 😩
I really love your content and I look forward to seeing more from you

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09


Newcomer Team Curation Guidelines For March 2024
Curated by - @𝗁𝖾𝗋𝗂𝖺𝖽𝗂

Note:

 6 months ago 

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us ma'am, this tends to happen and I've learned from your mistakes that I should be intentional about everything I do.

Yes dear, you give this topic a clear thought.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.
Personally I feel mistakes are almost inevitable, in one way or the other we really can't escape from it. Consciously or unconsciously we will definitely make mistakes but what matters most is that we learn from it so it doesn't repeat itself.
Best regards dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62070.52
ETH 2422.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64