Contest Environment : Homesteading - Vegetables in my gardensteemCreated with Sketch.

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago

20221024_200708_0000.png

Made on canva

We learned that economic growth and environmental protection can and should go hand in hand.- Christopher Dodd

To live in a healthy environment we must keep growing plants in our garden or roof or anywhere we can. I love to stay in an environment which is surrounded by a lot of plants. I love the green colour of the plants, this color symbolizes freshness and vitality. Trees can yield a healthy and refreshing atmosphere. Our house is located next to a road. In front of the house, we have a little space with a lot of plants. In 2020 I have planted a lot of flowering plants in my garden. Since then I have been quite enthusiastic about planting trees in my garden.

  • Papaya Fruit

I was more focused on growing flowering plants. But later my father suggested growing vegetables in the garden. I bought some papaya plants and cultivated the plants with my father. It's a sweet memory. I have so many papaya plants in my garden. We don't apply so much fertilizer to grow Papaya plants.


20221024_140025.jpg20221024_140043.jpg

Green Papaya fruits. They are growing in numbers


Even Papaya grows well in our garden because the soil in our garden is perfect for planting papaya plants. We eat Papaya as a tasty fruit and also a savoury vegetable. Another advantage of having papaya plants in your garden is that you can see some birds in your garden, because birds love to eat papaya fruit so much.


  • Vegetables

A few days ago my father planted two types of vegetables as seeds and saplings have grown from those seeds. Those vegetables are Ceylon spinach and Pumpkins. A few saplings of pumpkin have grown. They are looking healthy and green.


20221024_135654.jpg20221024_135513.jpg

Little pumpkin plants. They are looking healty and growing slowly


20221024_140302.jpg20221024_140230.jpg

Ceylon spinach. Another little friend in our environment


A root vegetable has also grown plenty in our garden. It's known as "taro". Its root and leaf can be eaten as vegetables. But you have to process it properly before cooking or eating it as a vegetable.

20221024_140459.jpg20221024_140437.jpg

Root vegetables (Taro)



Besides these vegetables, I have a few plants of mango, monkey fruit, bananas, sugar apple, jackfruit, litchi and pomelo fruit in my garden. For these plants the surrounding around my home is green. I love these plants so much. I wish to be in a place like this for the last day of my life. Try to contribute to our environment, and plant trees as much as you can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60988.21
ETH 2373.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55