Tomato fruit: Unraveling its mystery

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE22 hours ago

Red Modern Did You Know Instagram Post_20240710_171637_0000.jpg

Source: Canva


I just paused recently to admire the amazing versatility of tomato fruit. Do you know that tomatoes can either be a fruit or vegetable?
Anyways, whichever comes to your mind when eating it, tomatoes are one very unique gift of nature.


In the part of the country where I stay, tomato fruit has now become a scarce commodity. You'd literally see five tiny pieces going for #1000 ( 3.8 steem). It wasn't always like this though, but the hike in prices of goods and commodities has affected our dear tomato fruit.😢


Well, not minding the hike in price of this fruit, it's health benefits are so worth eating it.


Did you know ?🤭

  • Tomatoes are rich in potassium, folate, vitamin K and vitamin c
  • That because of it's beta carotene and vitamin c ingredients it serves as a potent antioxidant
  • It's lycopene ingredients supports cardiovascular health and cancer prevention
  • Tomatoes contains vitamin A and lutein which protects the eye and maintain optimal vision
  • It's high water contents supports hydration and other body functions

Now you know, would you include tomatoes in your sauce, soups and stew?


While you are contemplating whether or not to, come let me take you on my tomatoes stew journey 🥰


So actually it was on this day, I wanted to eat something fresh and my tomatoes came to mind.

In the preceding paragraphs I used variety of ingredients to prepare my delicious tomatoes sauce/stew.

IMG_20240630_193312_427.jpg

Steps to turn my tomato fruit into a sauce

  • Using a blender, I blended my tomatoes (large quantities) and in turn into uniform paste.
  • With it, I blended my garlic, onions and ginger to get a uniform taste
  • I put it in a sieve to filter excess water out of the tomato until I was left with a thick paste
  • I placed my groundnut oil in fire, when hot I added my salt and sliced onions
  • I added my well blended tomato paste and allowed it cook for about 3mins
  • I added my seasoned goat meat and stirred to mix
  • I added my pepper, seasoning cubes and powders and salt to taste
  • I added a little water and my curry leaves
  • I allowed it to cook and I'm few minutes, my delicious tomato sauce/stew was ready.

IMG_20240701_081452_433.jpg


I boiled my white rice so as to eat it with stew. My rice was done in a few minutes and hurray guess who enjoyed a wonderful lunch for the afternoon. You can enjoy this sauce with plantain, yam and even cocoyam.

IMG_20240701_101850_494.jpg


Interestingly this fruit can be used in other special ways. After blending it, a lot of people extract the juice and drink it for their cardiovascular health.

Will you try using this fruit in other ways possible, let me know what you think in the comment session.

Sort:  

image.png
CONGRATULATIONS!!
This post has been upvoted - Steem's Angels with @steemcurator09/ Curated by: @weisser-rabe

... with mozzarella cheese, olive oil and fresh herbs...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43