Time to be Creative: Five-Word Fiction #03 | Your Own Title

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFElast year (edited)

Hello, Friends. We got another chance to write a beautiful story as fiction writers. I want to express my gratitude to my friend @damithudaya for organizing another fantastic competition. I'm thrilled to take part in this competition because I enjoy writing fiction. Now let’s move to the topic.

lost in the jungle.png

Create with canva

image.png

I am 27 year old boy, from the town area and a wildlife photographer as well, only one child in my family. My entire family is nature lovers. As a hobby, my father likes to take pictures. As a result, we frequently travel to beautiful locations in Sri Lanka. On that day, my dad decided to visit Minneriya National Park in order to enjoy Sri Lankan elephants' natural behaviors. We arrived at the park at around 4:00 pm. Approximately 200 elephants were gathered on the grassy meadows on the Minneriya tank side. We came there to witness and take pictures of elephants behaving naturally.

image.png
Image source

Sundenly, I noticed a lone elephant moving from one side of the tank to the other side of the grassy area. I had a great opportunity to take some quality pictures then. I thus followed that elephant slowly in order to take photos of him in action.

I was unaware that the elephant was entering a jungle. I don’t care abount anything else, all I wanted was to get an image of an elephant behaving naturally. I think I followed the slow-moving elephant for about one and a half hour. I was also very careful with the elephant.

Unexpectedly, the elephant was gone into the bushes, and I missed it. I was in the middle of the jungle when I felt that I missed my parents. It was getting dark. I looked everywhere, but all I could see was a jungle. I realized that I was loss in the forest.

Suddenly I heard some strange noise as if the person were stepping with heavy feet. It brought to my mind the elephant as well as my parents.

I was quite terrified and unsure of what to do. I looked around and saw a huge tree off in the distance. As I took part in the race, I ran in the direction of the tree. Now I was a little closer to that tree. I heard that chasing was very closer. I quickly climbed the tree and, thankfully, found a cottage on the tree. I peeped inside the cottage. There was an old man, who was securing his chena that was beyond the river. I detailed my interactions with him in detail. He said that it was the elephant whom I chased was there. He also added that the elephant might be staring at us from near the tree. He informed me that the tree was so huge that not even an elephant could topple it, so I need not be afraid.


Image source

I remembered my parent; they must be scared and searching for me. I was almost going to cry. The old man assured me that everything will be alright by the following day. I was thirsty and hungry. I had nothing with me only my DSLR Nikon D850 Camera with a lens. That old man gave me some yarn to eat with coconut. He had water also. The cottage didn’t have enough space for two people to sleep, he claimed that he wasn't sleeping and requested me to take his place. Then I went to sleep reminding my mom and dad.

The next day morning I heard some sounds of a helicopter. I stood up and surveyed the sky. Yes, that was a helicopter, circling over the forest. I understood that they were looking for me. I told the old man about this incident. He said that he would shoot the sky several time as a signal and he did so. After noticing it, they slightly lowered the helicopter. Then that old man waved his white color sarong climbing to the top of the tree. The helicopter then flew down close to the bank of the river, and two men with rifles approached us from that direction. Later, they accompanied me to the helicopter and said that it was my parents who had sent the helicopter, which belonged to the Sri Lankan army. I thanked the old man warmly before leaving the area.

image.png
Image source

My parents were waiting for me at the army camp when I arrived. When they saw me, they were delighted. They were frightened after hearing my horrible story. And advised me not to follow any animal to get photographs. They thanked the old man and God for sending me to them safely.


The moral of the story is to always approach your work with positive intention.

The 5 words I used, elephant, old, cottage, race, and sky.

image.png

This is my story for this contest. If you like it, please vote for me and provide comments. I would like to invite @dove11, @waqarahmadshah, @jyoti-thelight, @lavanyalakshman, and @patewell to take part in this contest.

10% benefciary to @steembetterlife.

Thanks for reading my post.

Sort:  
 last year 

You wrote the story very nicely. All the best.

 last year 

Thank you for stopping by my post and for your lovely comment.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.008777

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

I am definitely in this contest and already started picking my 5 words. It's not such an easy contest but let me try and give something worth it. Thanks for inviting me.

 last year 

I wish you all the best.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.008443

 last year 

I wish you all the best.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.008443

 last year 

It's not such an easy contest.

I completely agree that this contest is not easy. I also participated in it and it took me about four hours to prepare my post for this contest. I had to correct the grammar and adjust the writing tone before my post was finalized. You can check out my entry by clicking here.

 last year 

For me taking part in fiction and doing stories based on prompts and words is not a problem because when I write, I let my imagination do the work and I seldom care for grammar. Cheers, have a nice time and all the best for contest!

 last year 

Of course, it won’t be an issue for you because you are an experienced writer. I learn a lot from you. I am new to this field so it takes me a lot of time to create posts, especially markdown styling takes up a lot of my time.

 last year 

Markdown time probably takes as much time as for you or anyone else. I was only talking in terms of writing which I agree might take time depending on ideas. You have done a good job here.

 last year 

Thank you. 😊

 last year 

Wow, what an exciting and adventurous story you've written! Thank you for inviting me. I've participated. You can check out my entry by clicking here.

Good luck in the contest! 😊

 last year 

Yes, I checked it. This time, you demonstrate a significant achievement that makes for a powerful story.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.008443

 last year 

Thank you. 😊

 last year (edited)

Thank you for sharing a post in the community and participating in the contest!! Well, what a beautiful story. For one moment I was wondering whether it was fiction or a real experience. It's so natural. I am glad that it has a happy ending after all!!

Good Luck with the contest!!

DescriptionFive-Word Fiction
Plagiarism Free
#steemexlusive
Bot Free
Status ClubClub100
AI Free✅ Original (Human text!)
Beneficiary-

Determination of Club Status refers to the https://steemworld.org/transfer-search Web-based Application
Plagiarisme Checker: https://smallseotools.com/plagiarism-checker/
AI Content Detector: Corrector App, OpenAI/, CopyLeaks

I invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.

Click Here
 last year 

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.010862

 last year 

I send you a message via Telegram!! Can you check?

 last year 

Yes, I got it and reply too.

 last year 

Well my friend, I never got your invite as you spelled my name incorrectly. Luckily there were others who also invited me.
If it wasn't for me participating in the contest I would have missed your beautiful story.
I could feel the tension in the air when I read your story and when I got to that massive tree I got goosebumps! LOST!
Well done!

 last year 

The fault is always mine: mistake, mistake, mistake. In any case, you participated in the contest.
I appreciate you reading my post, leaving comments, and being supportive.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.015066

 last year 

Mistakes happens to all of us (•ิ‿•ิ)
There is nobody that is perfect my friend.

 last year 

Your kind feedback made up my mind. Have a good day!
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.018613

 last year 

Thank you! A good day to you also. 🎕

Your post has been supported by @damithudaya from Team 2 of the Community Curation Program, at 50%. We invite you to continue sharing quality content on the platform, and continue to enjoy support, and also a likely spot in our weekly top 7.

Voting date: 02/04/2023

image.png

 last year 

Thank you so much for your support @damithudaya and your team 2.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.016877

 last year 

Saludos.....

Es impresionante tu Historia.

Me deja inquieta al pensar que pudiste pasar por eso tan terrible, los elefantes son para animales muy enigmáticos y Siempre han llamado mi atención, pero sin duda no sería capaz de seguir a ninguno.

Me alegra que el final sea tan bonito al reencontrarte con tus angustiados padres.
.gran trabajo.

Buena suerte 💪

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47