Hometown memories.

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE8 months ago

Good day my dear friends, as you all are aware, hometown memories play a vital role in shaping our lives. Those memories assist us in living with our community, family, and friends, and they have an impact on our behavior and decisions as adults. These memories guide us on our life journey and shape how we relate to the world around us. Therefore, I decided to take part in this contest. I would like to invite @dove11, @joyti-thelight, and @waqarahmadshah to take part in this lovely competition.

Hometown memoreis.png
Designed by Canva

IMG-20211128-WA0058.jpg

Introduce us to your hometown

The village where I was born and raised was Udugampola, 10 kilometers away from Gampaha. Gampaha is a large city in Sri Lanka's Western Province, located in the Gampaha District. Although Gampaha is a city, my birthplace was a village full of beauty and simplicity. For me, it was not just a place; it was a treasure trove of memories. It was a natural village surrounded by lush greenery. The people in this village are genuine, innocent farmers with bright smiles on their faces. That simple life taught me a lot of lessons and gifted me a priceless memory that I can carry with me wherever I go.

What makes it special or unique?

It is very special, because, it was a sub-kingdom of Sakalakala Wallbha, a son of King Weera Parakramabahu VIII, Kotte. The King's Palace was also situated in this village place called Maligagodalla. Pathaha Pokuna, a large pond identified as the king's bathing pool, is also located in this village. Therefore, there are many ancient Rajamahavihara Temples also in this village.

In addition, the beauty of this village's lush paddy fields, flowing rivers, and humble villagers are unique to this village. Not only that, but the lush greenery that envelops the village gives it a refreshing charm, making it a haven for nature lovers. The genuine smiles of the people here, who are always ready to lend a helping hand, make my village truly special.

What are the emotional memories associated with your hometown?

image.png
Image source

My memories of my hometown are not just pictures; those are deep memories stored in my heart. I can still remember rivers flowing through my village, children's laughter echoing down the narrow lanes, times spent playing with friends, the taste of traditional Sri Lankan sweets from local bakeries, and the aroma of home-cooked food by my mother and grandmother. The festivals celebrated, such as the Burullapitiya Church Feast, colorful procession, and musical shows, have left an indelible impression on me. And also, how can I forget peaceful moments spent in the quiet corners of ancient temples? Every corner of this village holds a story, a memory, and all those memories bring me to my hometown.

Share how your hometown has influenced your current perspectives and lifestyle

My village life has taught me to value traditions and cultural diversity. The values of community, humanity, and kindness that I imbibed helped to increase my interaction with the world. The simplicity of my village taught me to find joy in the little things and to appreciate the beauty of human connections. It has taught me the value of nature and the importance of preserving it for future generations. Furthermore, it has taught me to value and defend our traditional rituals.

IMG-20211128-WA0058.jpg

10% to @worldsmile.

Thank you for reading my post.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

TEAM 1
Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @patjewell
 8 months ago 

Thanks a lot for the support.

 8 months ago 

Your village life's influence on your values and perspective is something to be proud of and your emotional memories are heartwarming. I really enjoyed reading your post. 🙂

 8 months ago 

I appreciate your prompt action and kind feedback.

 8 months ago 

Your heartfelt reflection on your hometown, Udugampola, is beautifully expressed. It's evident that this village holds a special place in your heart, filled with cherished memories and valuable life lessons.

Thank you for sharing and Good Luck with the contest and sorry for being late!!

 8 months ago 

Thank you for reading my post and your kind feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50