"The Adventure Contest ( Christmas in calabar)

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE9 months ago

My family was transferred to Calabar while I remained in Port-Harcourt. So, going to Calabar wasn’t as exciting as it use to be back then, when I was initially dreaming of the city. It was Christmas again and I had the option of going to the village in rivers state or coming down to calabar to stay with my family. I chose the latter. But this time, I’ve called home to tell them I wasn’t coming alone!! The first question my mom asked me, ”I hope is not a girl? If it’s a girl, don’t near my house.” I wasn’t surprised because our Africa parents are very strict. As long as you are still living under their roof, you dare not bring a girl to the house to come and stay with you in your room!! Is even worse if is a lady bringing a guy to the house.. they will chase you out with broom and gun..😂😂


So, we took off from Port-Harcourt. My friends has never been to calabar before, so it was quite an adventurous journey for him and also for me too because with him, I went to places I won’t have gone to on a normal day, if I’d gone out with my family. His major concern was just the Calabar Carnival. He has heard a lot about the place, so this was his best opportunity. For me, I needed him around so we could get to make new friends in calabar.


The day arrived and by early morning, my guy have woken me up to start preparing even after I told him that carnival takes the whole day before it finishes. I couldn’t blame him because I also acted like him on my first time to calabar. Due to the high participation of people, before one band will finish passing, it takes hours. The bands/groups are five in total and each bands is made up of small sub groups interpreting the themes for that year Calabar Carnival with their respective costumes.


We took a stroll together around the carnival judging point. I like going out with him because he has this energy that attracts people to him and he likes big talks, telling the ladies what they want to hear and what there boyfriend’s have never told them before. He’s a jolly good fellow. I made several friends both guys and girls. During our walk around the carnival I met two of my secondary school classmates that I’ve not seen like forever. Michael and chinedu. We finished secondary school 2005. They came for the wedding of another secondary school classmates of ours that was doing his wedding in calabar. So, they decided to stick around for a while after the wedding, so they could witness the carnival before going back to Port-Harcourt.


Met also another of my university coursemate. Her name is Ekos did our masters class together in university of Port Harcourt. That was not her first time in calabar from our discussion.

The final judgement point was at the calabar stadium, were all the bands will do their final performances for the day and they will announce the best band for that year. Lots of celebrity musicians will also be present to do their performance to entertain the audience that will be present. It was almost 1am in the midnight and we were all so tired, had to go back home and sleep.


The next day, we were set for another adventure. We went to another popular place in calabar called ***”Tinapa”***. If you’re in calabar and you have not been to Tinapa resort, you are missing out. The place is very beautiful and lots of fun stuff to do there. We went to swimming pool. We do have memories in this pool that I’ll save for another day to share with you guys. How I made free #10000 cash. The swim coach guiding the pool underrated us. They had know idea that my friend was a good swimmer and use to represent Rivers state junior boys back when he was much younger. That was how we won the betting. That day was really fun. I made a girlfriend there. He also got one there as well.

That December trip was really worth it that year. After everything, he went back to his place of primary assignment because he was still doing his NYSC. I’m glad I made that December a memorable and adventurous one for both of us.

I will be inviting @joshwolfman, @bosferi123 and @qureshi-bari to be part of this contest.

Sort:  

hope you enjoyed it. It's the perfect way to celebrate the season and create cherished memories.

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67904.70
ETH 3244.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66