I'm and Steemit: My Journey with Steemit and Long-Term Plans for Passive Income

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE3 days ago
Introduction

In todays post, I’ll be sharing a little bit about my journey on Steemit hosted by @irawandedy and I’ll be inviting some friends to be part of it @emmy01 @hannybanny and @blessb


C2E61158-26F7-4D68-BCF5-9358739C570B.jpeg

source

My steemit journey started way back in 2017 and I must confess, a lot of us saw it as a poverty alleviation scheme because back then Ponzi scheme had finished dealing with us left, right and centre. Before a friend of mine introduced us to steemit. Out of 50+ people that joined that day we were only 23 of us that continued. Steemit then was as hard as a nail then and to make matters worse the pay was insignificant and that was what dropped us to that number of 23.


Coming back to the question why the number of post usually drop when steem drops? I will say, it is because of the mindset they came with. When i and my set was introduced, the guy gave us lots of high hopes, making steemit like an easy way out from joblessness. Imagine after coming with such high expectations, only to find out that we hardly get upvoted and the steem price isn’t as high as we expected. A lot of us ran away and that is what i believe is playing out till this recent time with new steemians


One thing people fail to understand is that not everyone on Steemit are writers. Imagine someone who is not a writer, spending a lot of time reading and racking his brain just to come up with an interesting post, only for him to get “zero” engagement and maybe a few cents which means nothing when converted into his currency.


After doing this for some few months and he’s not getting anything reasonable, his hopes will be shattered.
He will start thinking of the next available option at that moment and once he sees one, he abandons the platform. But one mistake I will say this people make is that they only post, they hardly comment on other people post and it affects their visibility.


For me, with the recent measures Steemit has put in place with steem curators 1 - 9, and booming upvotes,it will be very difficult for my productivity to decline. Most times when I see people opting out with this new steemit set up, It makes me laugh because I wish they had joined steemit in the early years when the competition was so high and before you get an upvote, you would have engaged with the person for a long time both on his comments section and through discord before they finally remember to just take a sneak peek at your profile and then upvote you.


Then, we use to be so happy when we see upvotes on our posts. Our survival techniques then was through comments on dolphins and whales post. We make sure we’re just in time to drop our comments immediately they drop a posts, so that we can drop our comments and we get some upvotes. This days only few people upvote comments. I feel more relaxed in this new system after staying away for almost 6 years.


I think those hard times in the old days actually prepared me for my return and that’s why I feel so surprised that now that things are looking easy, people are leaving. I keep telling most of my old friends that they should come back to steemit, that a lot of things have changed but I guess they are still afraid.


Have you thought about making it a long-term investment, Steem Power has provided passive income.

9BCAF8AA-7A87-48D3-A56C-0B76D178BB58.jpeg

source

Initially, when I started, Steem and SBD were at a very low price, and right before our eyes, SBD rose to almost $15, and Steem later climbed to around $8. Imagine someone who witnessed such a thing—it would be very hard to think short-term because I believe that what happened years ago can repeat itself at any time.


Then, talking about the passive income from Steem Power... This is one mistake I made in my early years: selling all my Steem and SBD after I left Steemit. Before now, I thought I could only earn curators reward only when I’m available unknown to me that i can earn even when I’m not actively posting or upvoting posts. I recently found out about a steemian that earns through curators reward by delegating SP to active steemians.


That’s my long-term plan if I eventually get a tasking job that won’t give me enough time to post here: buying enough Steem and adding it to what I already have, powering up, and then delegating my Steem Power to earn passively or I can bore you all with “my diary sessions” everyday at work just to keep my Steemit lively… the choice is yours!

Sort:  
 2 days ago 

I partly agree with you, it was hard as we started, we paid and struggled on but... We also learned how to comment and upvote and the communities felt more close and open.
I still comment and upvote, comments included because many of those writing me write longer comments thsn the average post is. Honestly speaking I rarely see those long comments been uovoted although it looks a bit better this month.

Today I see high CSI with the newbies they already know CSI of >20 looks good but 1% of 0 is not that 0 and no sign of support. It's a fake vote, a try to make oneself look good.

It's great SC 1-9 exist but it also takes the engagement and support from Steemians away. Just like that group you arrived with they wsit till they receive an upvote.
Till today the word is spread that Steem arrives in high amounts if you post some words.

@wakeupkitty
🍀♥️

 2 days ago (edited)

It's great that SC 1-9 exists, but it also takes engagement and support away from Steemians.
Just like that group you arrived with, they wait until they receive an upvote.

You actually made a big point here. But trust me, without them the posting will further dropped.
Back then, engagement was the only way to survive but to a large extent, those big SP holders didn’t post anything reasonable compared to what I’m seeing now.

Back then, a whale or dolphin will just come up with a picture of a chicken or flower and write maybe a line or two about what they posted…
But because we stand to benefit from comment section through upvotes… the kind of magnificent lines people will write about the flowers or chicken, even you as the writer will be amazed..

Some will even write poems under comments section just to get noticed.. it was really crazy back then…😂😂😂😂

 3 days ago 

I choose your diaries ;-)) But seriously: there have long been good suggestions to divide the Steem into two camps, so to speak: the authors and readers on one side, the investors on the other. The latter would have to help the authors to a healthier basis in return for the income they earn through their curation.

 2 days ago 

the authors and readers on one side, the investors on the other.

I’m hearing this for the first time. I still feel there are lots of things happening around steemit that need to be amplified more.. so, people can actually see the benefits.

For instance, so many people now might’ve heard of witness or delegations but they don’t really know their purpose or what they stand to gain if they give it a try..

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58