Weekly Reflections #04 : Hometown Memories

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE8 months ago

WhatsApp Image 2023-10-24 at 18.17.38_a5d8adac.jpg
Canva

Hello friends. How are you. While walking on the steemit platform, I found the most beautiful contest. That is the contest that talks about the Hometown Memories organized by @damithudaya. Home town is a collection of many of our memories. So I thought to share my memories together with this contest. Let's go to the article.

Introduce us to your hometown

My hometown is Galle. It is known as the capital of the southern province of Sri Lanka. It is located between Matara District in the Southern Province and Kalutara District in the Western Province. When talking about the city of Galle, it is a city of historical value. It is bordered by a beautiful beach. I will show its location with the help of google map.

WhatsApp Image 2023-10-24 at 21.24.54_261fe7b2.jpg
Screenshot by Google map

What makes it special or unique?

When talking about the city of Galle, there are many things that are unique to it. Among them, Galle fort is special. It has historical value. Sri Lanka is a colony of the Dutch in the past. This fort is called a fort built by the Dutch. Many of its ruins have been preserved even today. Here you can see a large clock tower built by the Dutch, a lighthouse, old cannons and a museum.

WhatsApp Image 2023-10-24 at 13.13.41_6a38c6f0.jpg
My own image

Also, the Galle International Cricket Stadium in the middle of Galle city can be called a specialty of this city. Rumassala mountain, which has ecological and archaeological value, is also located in Galle city. Also, the Galle port and the beautiful coastline around it add beauty to the city of Galle.

WhatsApp Image 2023-10-24 at 13.08.29_7212aa06.jpg
My own image

What are the emotional memories associated with your hometown?

School time is a time full of emotional memories for anyone. It was beautiful to spend that time with friends. I also have many memories related to school and higher education. The days when I went for a walk in the fort with my friends after classes were beautiful. I have also gone swimming in the sea with my friends. Those memories are very beautiful. I have gone to see many cricket matches at Galle Cricket Stadium. Among those matches, there is a match that I remember. I don't remember the year. That test match was held between Sri Lanka and West Indies. There, West Indies player Chris Gayle scores 333 runs. It's one of sensitive memory of mine.

WhatsApp Image 2023-10-24 at 13.08.30_11ce1d50.jpg
My own image

Share how your hometown has influenced your current perspectives and lifestyle

My hometown was the foundation of everything in my life. I got the job I am doing today because of my education. So all those educational activities took place in this hometown. Also, I was a talented athlete at the school level during my school days. The foundation for that was laid in my city. Also, in addition to education, I studied a life safety course as a professional qualification. I trained for that at Galle beach. Also, local financial institutions helped me a lot for my financial needs. So, my hometown helped me a lot to reach many goals and objectives in my life. I always love my hometown.

WhatsApp Image 2023-10-24 at 13.08.30_6d591227.jpg
My own image

The hometown is an immortal memory store in the life of any person. So in my life, Galle is a lot of memories. It doesn't matter if you can write all those memories and take photos. I shared those memories as much as I could. I invite you to join this contest and share information about your hometown.

Finally I would like to invite @sudaraka96, @sandimal, @nishadi89 for this contest.

Thank you!

Sort:  
 8 months ago 

Your introduction to your hometown, Galle, beautifully captures its significance and historical heritage as the capital of the southern province of Sri Lanka. The article shows how Galle influenced your education, athletic skills, and professional qualifications showcases the city's role in shaping your life. It's clear that your hometown holds a special place in your heart.

Thanks for sharing and good luck with the contest!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58102.40
ETH 3065.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26