"Gardening Challenge - My family little garden"

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE11 months ago

IMG_20230803_083841_69.jpg

Planting has always been a very wonderful thing in the whole universe as we humans have all benefited from it in so many ways. From the trees we plant, we have been able to acquire so many things like woods, herbal medicines, fibres and so many others. My father loves planting and I also love planting alot, the both of us normally plant in our little garden that's found in our compound. I thank @irawandedy for creating this contest.

Publish your simple plantation system

My plantation system isn't very difficult that's why I do engage in it daily, planting in my compound has really helped I and my family alot, we mostly plant bananas and pawpaw.

We mainly plant for consumption purpose as well and whenever the bananas that were harvested are much, we sell some and eat some. Planting is fun and the following are two things I plant alot.

Banana : We have benefited alot from.planting this fruit because it has given us the opportunity to eat fresh fruits daily.

IMG_20230803_083933_731.jpg

I always ensure I take care of our banana trees so that nothing bad happens to them.

Pawpaw : I love planting pawpaw and I recently cut down one of our big pawpaw tree that stopped producing fruits after it produced many at once.

IMG_20230803_083813_638.jpg

I planted a new one which is now growing small small and am happy for it's rising growth, I believe this one will last longer and produce better fruits.

How do you do it (plant care)

I will clear all the unnecessary weeds in my compound and begin that grow plants in that particular place, I thought to myself that these weeds aren't needed so fruits we be better to be grown at that spot.

After clearing, I will input the pawpaw seeds inside the soil but and water them, they will begin to grow then I will also get the necessary things for the planting of the banana but I won't plant it near the pawpaw tree, although i planted one near the pawpaw tree due to lack of space.

Harvest system

When I see is time to harvest the fruits, I harvest them immediate so that pests won't eat them for me and am happy that Monkeys are not in my area.

IMG_20230803_083927_935.jpg

I will then cut down the tree and ensure that I create space for upcoming plants and trees to grow. I will also harvest some pawpaw and still leave the tree because some are still growing.

Risk of Planting Failure

Planting has lots of risks because we do have insects and pests that normally eat and destroy our crops. Am happy that my compound has gate because it has made it difficult for goats to enter and begin to destroy what my father and I have planted.

Although fowls do jump our small fence and enter our compound but they don't destroy crops at all. I take time to monitor my crops so that I will know when pests wants to destroy them.

What steps did you take to overcome crop failure.

The steps i take is making research from the internet and following all the methods I do see there. Because over there they are well explained and pictures are being displayed on how a particular method is being carried out.

IMG_20230803_083946_966.jpg

To also overcome this crop failure, my father fenced our compound round so that goats and other things won't disturb our crops as well as thiefs that will want to steal our bananas.

How much it costs

It doesn't cost enough money to maintain my crops and the one I feel my father spend daily should be an estimate of NGN700 because I will use it to just buy fuel and pump water that we can use to water our crops. We don't buy seeds and some other things we think we can do without.

Thanks so much for reading friends, I really appreciate it.

I invite @graceleon, @chant, @suboohi and @msharif to participate in this contest.

________15% to @worldsmile_________

Sort:  

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, and good comments anywhere with any tags.
Curated by : @sduttaskitchen

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

 11 months ago 

Pray that you can plant better in your garden. Banana and papaya are definitely beneficial fruits. And formalin-free fruits are not available nowadays. Eating formalin-free fruits is more beneficial for health. I pray that you and your father can grow your garden together. Nowadays people cannot plant trees due to lack of space.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51