Steemit Engagement Challenge S5w3: If only

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago (edited)

AddText_10-24-06.09.00.jpgdesigned on add text app

Hello Steem friends,

it's a beautiful week and it's already week 3 in our engagement challenge. I know we are enjoying the challenge. For me, the challenge has given me opportunity to read the opinions and ideas of other steemians just in a post.



Introduction



This week's topic "if only" is one interesting phrase mostly used by we humans to express our regrets towards the out come of something we feel we didn't do well or actions we were meant to take or do but end up not doing. so I didn't want to miss out because I have also used such phrase that's why am here to share my opinion about the topic in a true life experience I had. Stay put and read.



If Only (my Personal experience)



I love my phone. Infact I love the company of my phone even more than I love the company of some friends, you might ask me why so? But you see, my phone is so useful to me that I practically see my phone as my best friend.


I can be in a room for a month and won't be bored as long as I have my phone with me. With my phone I can see movies, go online, read books, listen to good music and do every other things I love doing with my phone.

IMG_3106.jpgmy friend hugging me but am paying attention to the music am listening on my phone


This brings to memory an incident that happened to me one very rainy Wednesday. I was with my phone in my hostel back then in school. As at then, the brand of my phone was Nokia express music. The phone was bought as a birthday gift and was given to me by my friend. This phone was good and I loved it for it camera quality and for its memory space and speaker.


I downloaded music and movies and books on the phone and from time to time I see those movies and read the book. I also had some documents saved on that phone.


One raining Wednesday afternoon, I got a phone call from my boss asking me to go pick up a wey billed stuff sent to him from another city. Since he was not available, he asked me to help him out with it.


I told my room mate who happen to be my close friend. She told me to wait until it stops raining before I go out to pick up the wey bill, she also told me not to go with my phone since it was raining. I asked her if I don't go with my phone how can I reach the store keeper to get the way billed stuff? She suggested I copy down the number and go with her touch light phone in other to make the call. Her idea was not good to me, I felt I was been a burden to her. I also did not want to miss my phone that long. I wanted to put on my ear piece and listen to some good music while I head to the park to pick up the waybill, so I refused her offer.

IMG_1111.jpegTaking pictures with some friends yet I have my earpiece with my phone


I took my beautiful phone out, by then the rain was still drizzling and was no longer heavy. I put the phone at the middle of a book and held it under my armpit. I walked very fast until I got a bus moving to my direction so I entered. When I got to the park, I got down from the bus.


I remembered I was to call the store keeper so that he would bring the wey bill to me. By the time I brought out my book from my armpit, my phone was no where to be found. What? My phone was missing. I could not explain what happened. At that point I was so confused. I quickly looked at the direction of the road to see if the bus that brought me was still there hmm the buss was gone!


I cried my eyes out like a baby, some person's at the park gathered to ask me why I was crying. I narrated my story and they felt sorry for me. Finally I found the store keeper with the help of people around the park. I collected the wey bill yet I was sad. My phone was gone.


As I walked home that afternoon, alot of thoughts kept coming to my mind. Thoughts like "if only I had listened to my roommate and taken her advice, I would still be with my phone by now" the if I only thoughts were really much that afternoon. When I got home and told my roommate, she felt bad that I didn't listen to her. She said "Ruth if only you will stop been stubborn and listen to my advice more often you won't be getting into such issues"

IMG20220928091821_1.jpgA friend and I having fun time but my phone in my hands is not left out


I stayed for 2 month without a phone because my Dad refused to buy another one for me and I was not earning an extra money to enable me get another. Staying without my phone for 2 months felt like 6years without a phone. The feeling was terrible. My room mate will be playing with her phone while I would be forced to be asking her questions about what is happening on Facebook or other social media. If only I listened to my friend I would not loose my favorite beautiful phone.



Conclusion



The phrase if only most times are used to express regrets which is on the negative and in such case is the story of the way I lost my phone.

Sometimes the things we finally regret are often things that was actually brought to our minds to do or not to do. If only we would be more convinced or sure about that decision or contract or relationship or even the little things we want to do, this phrase "if only" will not surface in our mouth or minds.

Thank you for reading..

I invite my friends @okere-blessing @temitopef @lhorgic to join this contest.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

The very reason for the phrase "If Only..." is that no one is gifted with the ability to see ahead of time. As much as this phrase is used mainly in situations of regret, trust me it is to express joy too. An example is a case where someone was meant to go somewhere and didn't meet and some terrible happened there. One can count it as a blessing in disguise which also translates to an "If only" case.

In all, sorry you lost your phone, oh our beautiful photos and loving music is gone. 😭😭. Thank you, do have a lovely day.

Congratulations!

This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
Curated by : @mato445

image.png

 2 years ago 

Yes you are correct, it can be used in that sense like you have stated.
And thank you for your support

 2 years ago 

La dependencia en grande, creo que la mayoría estamos igual .

 2 years ago 

The word only if comes when things go wrong and we hope that only if we can do it the other way around.

Your story is touching and as much as I also love my phone, I too might have to go with my phone if I ought to be in your position and would later regret not dropping it at home.

Sorry for the loss of your precious phone, thanks for the invite, and good luck with the contest.

 2 years ago 

That's right if only is usually used to express regrets.

I appreciate your support and kind words and I look forward to your entry

 2 years ago 

Truly that idea from your friend might not have sounded good...the truth is we really don't see some of these things coming, if we had, we would have prepared well against them.
Nokia express music was one of the best Nokia brand in that era when Nokia was still dominating the market. It must have been a huge loss. I believe you learnt from the whole experience. I wish you the very best in this contest dear.

 2 years ago 

Yes oo her idea didn't sound good to me because I didn't see what was coming so I lost my expensive phone. I have leant my lessons.

Thank you for your support always.

 2 years ago 

Sometimes things have to happen so that we can learn life lessons, your phone was so important to you, you were so distracted by it that you didn't listen and here are the results.

However, making amends is human, you learned the lesson and that is what is important.

 2 years ago 

Yes sometimes things happens so we can learn i agree.
Thank you so much for your support

 2 years ago 

Amiga @ruthjoe
Como usted lo dice, la expresión "Si solo" es más utilizada cuando uno quiere expresar arrepentimiento, y uno tiende a arrepentirse de algo que hizo, precisamente porque tuvo la oportunidad de hacer lo contrario y porque esa acción le trajo consecuencias que está lamentando.

Por esa razón, "si solo" es como querer echar el tiempo hacia atrás y evitar una mala decisión en el camino.

Saludos.

 2 years ago 

Yes dear friend if only is like trying to turn back the hands of time.

Thank you so much for your support

 2 years ago 

My room mate will be playing with her phone while I would be forced to be asking her questions about what is happening on Facebook or other social media.

Hahaha this is funny but not funny because i was once a victim. I felt like i was in darkness.

 2 years ago 

Hahaha thinking about it now makes me laugh but then it was not funny. My phone is still my best companion.

Thank you for your support, I look forward to seeing your entry

TEAM 4 CURATORS

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @mato445

amazing.gif

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for your support

 2 years ago 

Losing a mobile phone precious to one is just one of the occurrences we often avoid. Even if you have the money to buy another one the next minute, there are some stuff one has not really backed up, and losing them may be very costly.

I can relate to how you must have felt when the event occurred. Occurrence teaches us something even though one has to learn the hard way. Good luck to you, @ruthjoe.

 2 years ago 

Yes oo loosing a mobile phone is not good at all, most times the things it contains can not be replaced. But am glad I got some back as time went on. And yes I learnt the hard way oo. You can imagine that this days once it's 6pm I don't go out with my phone. Some time I feel some places are unnecessary to go with my phone.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85