"I'm and Steemit, changes are for good".

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE8 hours ago
AddText_08-19-06.37.42.jpgsource

Hello friends

Steemit has been an amazing place for me where I spend most of my time in a day, weeks and months.

I remember I joined steemit February 2021 and by then we had a lot of exciting writers and great contents. The price of steem and Sbd was cool so we had many users from all over.

But as soon as the steemit team noticed that many users are just out to cash out and go without having the interest of the platform at heart, they decided to introduce more initiate for the Longitivity of the platform. This was done through the introduction of the club status initiative.

The club status initiative was for us to think long time investment. But guess what? This became the doom of many. I mean many users saw it as an opportunity to leave the platform. I also wanted to leave too because I wasn't use to it and my savings mentality was poor.

So this drastically contributed and still contributes, to the decline of active users on steemit. Powering up our steem do not just keep the platform going but it's mostly for our own benefits because you can grow it to the point where you begin to support other users with your vote, but imagine when you don't have enough, less value will be given to the posts of others.

Yes I have thought of making steem a long time investment that why I joined the club5050 club status where I power up 50% of my earnings. This helps me grow my steem which I use to support other users afterwards. When I vote others I also get reward from it too.

But you know what? Not many users believe in long time investment and most times it's not their fault, the economy at hand is not helping matters. There are people who steemit is their only source of income, they can't cope with it so they power down or don't belong to a club.

price-tag-374404_1280.webpsource

The steem price fluctuation in the market didn't just affect the price of steem but it also affected the printing of Sbd. I remember earlier this year when Sbd started printing because the price of steem rose. Hmm many dormant or inactive users all began to return to steemit.

Personally I knew of 10 users who came to my dm asking that they wanted to return back on steemit. It automatically increased the number of active posts in communities. So I totally believe steem price fluctuation in the market affects the number of active users on the platform. I also noticed that the moment SBD stopped printing, the number of active users started dropping.

When the value of anything begins to depreciate, people begin to lose interest in that thing. This applies to steemit. They see that there efforts is not commensurate to what they receive so they tend to channel their strength else where.

But that's not all that is making users become inactive , another reason is insufficient support. On steemit there are many users who have write well but are not recognized.some are into photography and arts, music ans even poetry. My experience working in the month of July as a community curator opened my eyes to see many users who are creative but do not get support. This can be discouraging. So after a while they will become inactive or move to other places where their contents is valued.

Another reason is because they feel Steemit is becoming rigid with several rules and regulations. Few weeks ago I came across a conversation on steemit although I can't remember where anymore. They were talking about burnsteem initiative. One user asked how the initiative have been of help, he believed the rules where too much. Am thankful that the steemit team is beginning to show us that they are really not rigid. Coming up with lot of changes here and there.

My last reason for decline of user is the burnsteem25 initiative. Normally when a post is supported, the reward is divided into two parts, the curators and the user. Now with the burnsteem25 initiative, after this reward is divided into two. A part goes to the curators and the part meant for the user, half of it is what is burnt. This simply means that the steem burnt is taken from our steem. Users are left with little. Over time, the users gets discouraged with what they receive as their reward so they become inactive.

So any user who joined steemit back then when all the initiatives was introduced and is still present up till now deserves to be awarded. They stayed not because they don't see all the challenges but because they love what they do on the platform, and because they want to be a part of something great. Steemit is something great!

Changes are for good, am glad that the new changes on steemit will work out well giving more opportunities for users and investors. Let's see how everything unfolds.

Sort:  
 4 hours ago 

I think you can go one step further: these urgently needed changes must come from ourselves. We can't expect someone else to fulfil our wishes on a decentralised platform. We have the freedom to develop something. We just don't use it...

 4 hours ago 

Exactly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47