Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation. By @rossnenye

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE12 days ago
Hello everyone, good morning to you all. Welcome back to my blog. I'm so excited to participate in this contest organized by @goodybest.

pexels-oyetola-togunde-2904750-13165299_1.jpg
Source

What is your indigenous language, is it your country's official language and can your kids speak the language?

The name of my indigenous language is Igbo Language. I'm a citizen of Nigeria, my Country has over 250 ethnic groups and this ethnic groups speak differently language and so there is no way my indigenous language would be understood by other tribes. Our official language here in Nigeria is English language, almost everybody speaks and understand it.
pexels-thirdman-6109556_1.jpg
Source

But I belong to the Igbo ethnic group and we speak Igbo language. I'm not married yet, but whenever I get married and have kids I will definitely teach them my indigenous language because it is our pride and identity.

What are some of your country's traditions and how do you preserve them orally?

My Country Nigeria is a Country known for its rich cultural heritage. It has several traditions across its different ethics groups. Some of the cultures and how they've preseved orally includes.

  • Music and Dance

Here in Nigeria we listen and dance to afrobeat and highlife music and we also have so many talented people in this aspect. We can preserve it orally by playing, listening and dancing to this music.
pexels-fatima-yusuf-323522203-19781227.jpg
Source

  • Moonlight story

This is significant in all the ethnic groups. During the moonlight, children usually gather around an elderly person to listen to folktale and this stories usually have moral lessons. It can be preserve orally by sharing stories often with the younger generations

  • Festival

So many festivals are usually celebrated by different ethics groups. The one popularly celebrated by my ethnic group is the new yam festival. It is normally celebrated after the yam harvest to thank God for a success harvest. We can preserve it orally by writing documentaries about it.

  • Food

Nigerian is blessed with so many dishes, ranging from Jollof rice, Egusi soup, Bitterleaf soup, Afang soup etc. We can preserve it orally by writings and teaching their recipes.

  • Respect for elders

In Nigeria culture, the elders are highly respected and held in place of high esteem. We don't refer to them by their names, we usually refer to them by attaching sir or Ma to their names. We can preserve this culture orally by teaching our children how to respect elders and also the importance of respecting them.

Thanks for reading through my post, I invite @v-brainer, @joymm and @entity01 to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 11 days ago 

Wow it's good to know you are Igbo girl that's cool same with me we are everywhere one love dear 💘.

 8 days ago 

You have clearly highlighted the traditions and practices in Nigeria also stating your tribe and spoken language.

I love the fact that you would teach your children your language, some parents don't teach their children their local language because they feel they have no need for it.

Great job, best wishes to you.

 8 days ago 

Thanks for your comment dear friend.

 2 days ago 

Nwanyi OMA kedu? I'm glad that you're proud of your language and will teach your unborn kids. Thanks for sharing some of our traditions with us, success to you!

 2 days ago 

Thanks ma

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61620.03
ETH 3394.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50