A defining moment of my life and how it has affected me

It all start on the 5th day of December 2023 while I was waiting for my exam papers to arrive when I received a distress call telling me that my mum is critically ill and needed urgent admission.

IMG-20240112-WA0055.jpeg

I became so weak, restless and absent minded, crying all through exams that day, I wasn't easy for me to concentrate, I was consoled by my course mates and encouraged me to focus on the exam first ensuring me that nothing will happen to my mum.
The truth is, I wasn't crying only because of my mum's sudden health issue but the money to take care of her because at that point in time my brother list his job and wasn't doing anything yet and I was the one providing for us with my hair making business and taking care of the sick and paying of hospital bills were things I never planned for. That was the most painful part of it and I was so worried on how to get money.

It wasn't easy concentrating to finish my exam in two days then rushing down to the hospital to take care of her. I was able to raise some money to take care of the hospital bills and we were discharge and the doctor asked us to take her home and take care of her at home.
Here is where the who live changing moments happened. Taking care of my aged mother who became bedridden, who couldn't walk, talk well, sir up, eat food on her own, I have to carry for everything, I bath her, feed her and take care of her drugs.

Screenshot_20240418-234008.png

I had to carry her from the village to my lodge in school, I literally had no time for myself, couldn't do my hair styling job anymore because I had to be around her for every 30munites. Life because tough and miserable for me.
I had a POS machine which I used in turning over some money, the money finished I was loosing, both strength was taken away from me,I don't sleep at night.
Even though I lost her after 5 months of taking care of her but the life changing experience was worth it.
It left a huge effect on me both negative and positive effect.
Negatively I lost everything, my money for the POS business finished, I lost customers, I became sick and stressed out during that period of taking care of her as a result of lack of sleep. It was not funny.

IMG-20240710-WA0007.jpg

Positively I learnt to be tolerant, I learnt to care more with love and smiles. I learnt to be more patient with things, I learnt persistence because all these were what I had to cultivate in other to take care of her even though it was had but I learnt to do it without showing much of the stress. At least I made feel okay and happy during those sad period of her life.
Finally seeing her die in my hands while taking care of her made me stronger and I became more courageous. It was really a life changing experience and moments for me and the effects are helping me today.

I want to say a very big thank you to @goodybest for this great privilege to share this life changing moments I had with you all.
I hope that people reading this story will learn from my story. Patience, love, care, perseverance, persistence they are good quality to exhibit, it will help you in life.

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Oh my dear @preshthankg I'm so sorry about your mother, I can't imagine how you feel. May the God of all comfort comforted you and your brother, and may he blessed you for taking care of your mother till she breaths last. You're indeed a strong and courageous woman, success!

try and engage meaningfully with fellow users, comment and upvote on their post, as this will help you to have good Voting CSI

Always proof read your post and make necessary corrections before publishing it.

Amen
Thank you so much🙏

Thank you for sharing this powerful and emotional story! Your selflessness and love for your mom are truly inspiring. I'm so sorry for your loss, but it's clear that this experience has made you stronger and more courageous.

Your lessons learned - patience, love, care, perseverance, and persistence are invaluable. Thank you for spreading love and light.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40