Steemit Engagement Challenge S3-W2: I love myself to the moon and back by @patjewell 🌼

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago (edited)



Image Source

Doubts…

It is worse than playing with the pebbles of a daisy in a “He loves me, he loves me not” game.

It is those “Can I can, can I not?” which CAN drive us crazy.

My doubts

If I had a bunch of daisies in my house today they would all have been gone. How I doubted myself today.

About a month ago I applied for the position of country representative for Steemit for my beloved country South Africa.

I was so excited but with time those doubts started to creep in.

🌼 Do I know enough?
🌼 Will I cope?
🌼 Will I not let Steemit down?
🌼 How on earth am I going to do it?
🌼 What if…

And the list just got longer since the announcement yesterday that I was elected.

I hardly slept last night. I suppose in a way I was hoping for all the doubts to be gone when I woke up this morning. To my horror they were even worse.

Now, if you think you are scared of Freddy Krueger you have no idea how I felt this morning. The only difference, I was not filled with fears but with doubts.

How I overcame my doubts

Early this morning I got a message from a Steemit friend; “I haven't see comments from you accepting the role as Country Reps”.
Really? I never thought anybody would pick up that I haven’t replied yet.

I told him about my doubts and that I just wanted to discuss it with my husband.



And that my Steemian friends is what made my doubts go away; six simple words; “I will always support you anytime”.

When we are in doubt there is always that one person who will lend a helping hand. All that remain is for us to ask not only here in Steemit but also in life.



Image Source

What makes me love myself to the moon and back

For me there a three things which make me love myself;

  1. Self-discipline
  2. Kindness
  3. Knowledge

Self-discipline:

I absolutely LOVE a “to do” list. I have a black scholar counter book in which I write my daily tasks. Yes, I know the tech guys will think I am silly to write things down when we have technology at our finger tips.
I write it for one good reason. When I complete a task I take a big red marker and I tick the task as completed.

Nothing makes me love myself more than seeing those red ticks.


Kindness:
People think that we cannot measure love. They are wrong. The thing we cannot measure is kindness.
Through kindness you are inclined to forgive yourself and if you can forgive yourself you can love yourself.

Nothing makes me love myself more than seeing those red ticks and kindness.


Knowledge:
My dad always told us that if there is one thing nobody can take away from you it is knowledge. It is only later in my life that I learned to acknowledge these wise words.
If you want to add confidence to who you are and how you act you must knowledge to it.

Nothing makes me love myself more than seeing those red ticks, kindness and knowledge.


Happiness, well-being and the prioritising thereof

I believe that the most important relationship you can ever have in your life is the one you have with yourself. If you do not love yourself life is going to be very miserable.

Oprah Winfrey once said;

"You will see that the value you give yourself is the value the world reflects back to you."

These words are so true. Is it easy to value yourself? Not at all. If you can become a master in balancing happiness and well-being.

How do I do it?

🌼 I create some “me” time
🌼 I organise myself
🌼 I connect with other people
🌼 I pay attention to what is currently happening in my life
🌼 I play it forward!

At the end of the day, if you still have your vase full of daisies you can put your head down that night and say;
“I am a winner, I can do it and I love myself to the moon and back!”



Image Source

I invite:
@rubilu123
@nadiaturrina
@madilyn02

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

Why would you stop at this point. I felt you were just going to continue with this writeup. I have learnt a lot from your article on steps taken to overcome your fears.

Thanks for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago 

My friend!! It is so nice to see your reply. I've missed them.
Just shows you what Steemit did for us forming new friendships.
I'm glad that you could learn something from my post.
Keep on going is all that we can do.

Great post, resteemed and upvoted on @southernafrica

 2 years ago 

Wooooooow! My brain literally exploded with this fine work. It is however strange to hear that you had some doubts creeping in. I see you as a super lady, and that can't change even after reading this publication. It just showed how determined and go getting you are. You are exemplary, and i pray you get all the strength you may need to pull this off flawlessly. Remember that you are the only steemit hope your country has right now to stand the gab between steemians and the steemit team. If you can't do it, no one can🙌🏻
Good luck @patjewell. Steem on!

 2 years ago 

Oh wow ! Thank you for these beautiful words!! It warmed my heart and melted my feet.
I can only give it my best and with the support of my fellow Steemians I have high hopes.
A cup of ☕ just to say... Thank you!

 2 years ago 

You are very much welcome, cheers🥂.

 2 years ago 

Having someone who is there to help you become better is something I don't take lightly. When I joined I had similar doubts, but then you realise that Feb power to grow lies in our hands. You lean on others strength and grow.

I wish you luck in this contest @patjewell

 2 years ago 

These are such wise words! We need each other. If it is not there Steemit will not be a success.
Thank you! You visit and interaction with my post is appreciated. 🎕

 2 years ago 

This is very straight forward and understandable, very thoughtful too, I have learned so much from it, thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago 

As usual I see your reply! Thank you!!
You never fail to amaze me. (•ิ‿•ิ)
Wishing you a beautiful day and weekend.

Can I say that I love you and this beautiful post to the moon and back?

It is normal to doubt your abilities sometimes. What matters is overcoming that fear. Spot on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.55
ETH 2610.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67