Steemit Engagement Challenge S2-W1: Recycling of potato skins by @patjewell

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago



Potato skin as a snack

This challenge got me thinking as I am not the arty type.

I know the importance of recycling and I also practice it but I have never taken waste, like a can, and turned it into a piece of art.

I kept on scratching my head… What shall I do for this contest?

Then I saw a post of @bangmimi and his work in a restaurant. Thank you my friend, the penny dropped!

As a restaurant owner my staff knew very well how I felt about wasting food. I always took whatever was left and turned it into staff meals. I had a “no waste policy”. It is imperative to reduce the amount of food that we throw away on a daily basis.

My family also calls me the “Queen of food waste”. As a family joke they will put various food waste on a tray and then give me a time challenge to turn it into a meal.

One of my favorite food waste product, potato skin!

Potatoes are by far the most use root vegetable globally and loved by all!

During the 10th International Conference on Waste Management and Technology Di Wu from the Potato Research Center, School of Engineering Science in Xichang China, gave a review on “Recycle technology for potato peel waste processing”. An article not to be missed. Link to article

Today I am sharing with you how to turn potato waste, the skin, into a snack in 3 easy steps. But before we get there...

Did you know?

🥔 Potato skin is a great source of potassium

🥔 Potato skin is rich in vitamins and minerals

🥔 There is more nutritional value in potato skin than in eating a potato

🥔 You can manages your blood pressure by eating potato skins

🥔 Potato skin is recycled to make probiotics

🥔 Potato skins can be used for compost and worm farms

🥔 Potato skins can be used for food for animals

🥔 Potato skins can be used to scrub oil from cooking equipment

🥔 Believe it or not it can be used as a dressing on burn wounds

Potato skin as a snack

What you need:

→ Potato skins
→ Olive oil
→ Salt or spice



Ingredients

After you have peeled potatoes for your stew or for making mashed potatoes put the unwashed skins in a plastic bag and store it in the fridge for when you want to use it.

It is snack time!

Step 1

Take the potato skins out of the fridge and wash them. The reason why we wash them is to remove the pesticide.
Dry the skins with a dry kitchen cloth or paper towel and place them on an oven tray.

Step 2

Place the skins on an oven tray and sprinkle it lightly with olive oil, salt or spice. Pop the tray in the oven and baked the skins until they are brown and crispy.



Baking in the oven

Step 3

All that remain now is to serve it to your family with your favorite dip.

An easy and delicious dip is a mayonnaise mixed with a bit of tomato sauce or mustard.

Enjoy!


When next you peel potatoes think twice before you throw them in the dustbin or turn your SPUD4STEEM in crispy potato snacks!

Location what3words

CC: @kiwiscanfly
@morpheussa
@carlaislt

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Excellent work, thank for information my friend.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for helping me! 🍫

Great post👍 Reshared on @southernafrica

 2 years ago 

Hahahaha, this is interesting! Potato skin snack? Wow! I have not seen or read about this before. I will not throw away my potato skin any more. Thanks for the steps involved. I will try to recycle my potato skins henceforth

 2 years ago 

It is supper yummy! Your family will love it.
You can also drop it in oil instead of an oven. Just like you will make chips.
Thanks for the visit my friend! 🎕

 2 years ago 

Alright, thanks

Wow, this is something new to me and the funny thing is that, it has never occur to me that this is somewhat possible.

Thank for opening my eyes.

 2 years ago 

My friend you will love it! It is nicer than a packet of Lays chips!
You can also cook them in oil if you want to. The trick is just that you must cook them until they are crispy.
Thanks for the visit and happy eating!

 2 years ago 

How did I not think of this magnificent idea!
You are ingenious, I like the potato skin, it is very nutritious, at home I make fries with everything and the skin.
What a great way to motivate others not to throw anything away.

What a good snack!

 2 years ago 

There you go! Someone that knows all about potato skin and the nutritious value. (•ิ‿•ิ)
Good for you to make fries with the skin.
I know that some even make their mash potato with the skin on.
Thank you for the visit my friend. 🎕

 2 years ago 

Ah I never knew tomatoes peel can be this useful and nutricious thank you for sharing it with us I will be recycling it now for consumption thank you ma'am for sharing it is useful

 2 years ago 

It is for me to say thank you for visiting my post! 🎕
I bet you that you will absolutely LOVE these potato skin snacks. They are super yummy.
You can also fry them in oil, the same as making fries.

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Saya baru tahu bahwa kulit kentang bisa di buat jadi camilan yang enak

 2 years ago 

Thank you for engaging with my post. It is appeciated.
Trust me, they are super delicious! Best of all, they can also be fried in oil. Just like making potato fries.
Enjoy!

 2 years ago 

Saya ingin segera merasakannya...terima kasih sudah memberi ide

 2 years ago 

Amazing! This is the first I've ever heard about the awesome edibility of Potato skin. I've always been peeling off and throwing them away, in fact, I cooked potatoes for dinner two nights ago and I threw away the skin.

Thanks for sharing this amazing piece, I have something added to me today. Quick one if you don't mind, the title can be edited to S3 😊.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for the visit my friend!
Another way you can cook it is by cooking it in oil which is just so nice. It is just with the price of oil these days the best it to drop it in the oven.
As for the S3 bit, it was a mistake when we dropped the challenge and when we noticed it was too late to change as all the user was using the S2 so yah, we continued with it.
Up to now it is only two of all of you who noticed it and for that you deserve a 🍫

 2 years ago (edited)

It's great to learn about these tips from you and I will definitely put it into practice next time. And I will gladly accept that chocolate 😊. Thanks for the useful tips once again.

 2 years ago 

Wow. I have never use potato skin. to me it's all a was but thanks to this post I have learn a lot. I will try this recipe next in my kitchen. thanks for sharing with us Ma'am. I have learn something new today.

 2 years ago 

I'm so glad that you could learn something new. (•ิ‿•ิ)
You can also fry them in oil. Just like you will make potato fries.
Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55