Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation.

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE3 months ago

pexels-photo-2600340.jpeg
Link

Hello friends, I saw this contest organized by @goodybest and I decided to show interest. This is an opportunity for me to introduce my religion.

Right now it is raining heavily, I can't even get up from my bed, I don't know if you are experiencing this in your country or State.

Well the rain could not stop me from writing, so guys let's be patience and take your time to know a little about my languages and traditions.

What is your indigenous language, is it your country's official language and can your kids speak the language?

pexels-photo-667200.jpeg
Link

I am a Nigerian, and native of ibibio tribe, in my content I will be telling you my indigenous language.
Ibibio is a language is been spoken by the Ibibios, who are mainly found in Akwa Ibom State and some other parts of southeast Nigeria. In Ibibio land there are some other local languages which are Efik and Annang.

As for the official languages of my country, we have three main languages such as the igbo, Hausa, and the Yoruba and also English as the official language.

when it comes to preservation of language, culture like Igbo place a very strong important on oral tradition. communities leaders and elders also play very important role in telling stories, legends and also cultural practices to the the younger ones through telling stories, proverbs and songs.

As for my kids speaking my language, well here I won't lie, my kids really understand my language very well but the problem is that they can't speak it, I have try all method for them to speak but to no avail.

Right now, I don't speak English with my kids at home, I speak more of ibibio with them. I believe with time they will learn to speak my language.

What are some of your country's traditions and how do you preserve them orally

free-photo-of-group-of-anzalu-dancers-in-traditional-tribal-costumes.jpeg
Link

Nigeria as a a diverse country has so many rich traditions! such as

✅ telling of story: some elders tell stories of those ancestors, legends, and some historical events which pass down cultural value and history

✅ Proverbs and wise sayings: in my country, we make use of wise saying and proverbs in other to convey cultural value, life lesson and wisdom.

✅ Folklore and myths: some Stories of some mythical creatures, gods, and goddesses are usually shared through generations, and explaining natural phenomena, moral lessons, and cultural practices.

✅ Music and dance: our Traditional music and traditional dance are usually taught to younger ones, and are usually followed by stories and maybe legends.

✅ Oral history: our Communities usually preserve their event which happen in the past, customs, and cultural practices by keeping an oral accounts.

✅ Language: Preservation of local languages such as Yoruba, hausa, Igbo, and some other languages are important for oral tradition, as local language Carries knowledge and endowment.

✅ Cultural festivals: some cultures do celebrate their country Nigeria culture and also passing it to the younger generation through festivals such as Eyo, Osun Osogbo, and Durbar

✅ Family and kinship: some Family members do tell stories, customs, and traditions with their other members, which helps in preserving cultural heritage within ones kinship strength.

✅ Griots and praise singers: good storytellers and praise singers share their stories, histories, or cultural values through their method of singing music or even poetry.

Then let's look at some of the Ibibios traditions which is my place

✍️ The "Uruan" ceremony; it is a coming of age ritual for young men.

✍️ The "Ekpo" masquerade festival: the celebrations of the Ibibio ancestors and also deities are done here.

✍️ The "Ekpe" secret society: they plays a very portant role in the social aspect of the Ibibios and also the political structures.

in other To preserve these traditions, the Ibibio people use various methods, like

  • dance and music performances

  • education and Language documentation

  • telling of stories and folklore orally

  • celebrating cultural festivals

Sort:  
Loading...
 3 months ago 

You've written so well about our culture and traditions, Indeed they are rich and our elders try really hard to pass them on. Haha 😂 sorry let me laugh at you a bit, your kids can speak Ibibio, well, I can understand, but I believe they will with time. Thanks for sharing with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51