Steemit Engagement Challenge S5-W3: If Only

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago (edited)

photostudio_1666645441757.jpg

If only I could turn the hands of time


If only. Those two words when said or used in this exact configuration always has this gloomy sense of regret, that point when we wish things were different or could turn back the hands of the clock.
We have all had this moments, and at first I believe only those who died at birth will not have a hand full of if onlys or had I known but I latter concluded that even the stillborn would still wish things were different, they will just wish they had survived.

In our relatively short life of a few years, we have too much to regret as long as we make decisions and even if we were to let others decide for us, we could still end up with even more reasons to regret our indecision.

Some "if only" situations

We wish things were different after recognizing that we have been swindled. We then wish we had acted differently.
We could wish things were different after missing an opportunity. While we sometimes wish we did not take a specific cause of action, some times it's the opposite, we wish we did.
While sometimes our regret is instantaneous, like trying an experimental drug. in other cases the object of regret is far in the distant past. Like regretting the carrier path we took, or an entrepreneurial risk we took. Talking about such risk, let me give you my story.

Risk Taking

I made a career in ICT and at some point I was working with a large ICT firm who provided ICT solution for schools. The firm was financially buoyant and had a good reputation. we would equip and furnish any space provided by a school into an Altra modern ICT laboratory. My services to the firm allowed me the opportunity to learn a lot.

IMG_20220713_144124~2.jpg
IBBIL Computers is the ICT firm I worked with

What3wordIBBIL Computer Academy

After working for four years I had enough skill and experience at least so I thought. I resigned from the firm and took the risk to try on my own. I had no financial muscle but was confident that I could use my intelligence to offset my financial ineptitude.
I meet a friend, pitch my idea and he got hooked. We wrote letters to the ministry of education, explaining how we could resuscitate abandoned ICT facilities.
After several meetings, the idea was bought and documentation was issued granting us full access and right to operate. Circular were sent across to schools mandating them to cooperate. I could see my empire stretching across the state.
I know at this point you are already trying to guess what will go wrong, or even propose some theories.

The take off was flawless

Everyone loved it, it was affordable and generated revenue for us and for the schools. Schools invited us to setup their ICT centers and we did. There was so much work so fast and we had it all planned out.
IMG_20161020_102919~2.jpg Running my ICT Program at GTC Ewet Uyo

What3wordGTC Ewet Uyo

We organized the first ICT competition in the school's inter house sports competition. The technical school board feel in love with our idea and gave us a separate mandate to operate.

Things changed

The government came up and enforced a policy of free, compulsory and qualitative education which states that no fee of any kind should be levied on any student.
The parents stoped supporting the program and the state government said it could not sponsor it.
That was when I understood that statement that governmental policies can affect a business.
Some parents were egger to support the program because it was affordable, each student was to pay 18000 Naira for a period of six years broken down to 1000 Naira per term.
Putting it in Steem terms it will mean 6.667 Steem a term or 120 Steem for six years being the full length of their education. ( This estimate is calculated at the rate of 150 Naira per Steem.)

My regret

How I wish things were different, if only such a law was not passed. But if it had worked out, I may have been too busy to have noticed steemit or make the friends I have made in this platform. I would have had one less regret, and this post would never have been written.

About myself

Username@manuelhooks
JoinedJune 2021
About myselfAchievement 1


I would love the following friends to participate in this Steemit Engagement Challenge. They are @kesybliss @oasiskp and @imaphil


#steem4betterlife-s5w3 #burnsteem25
#club100 #steemexclusive
#nigeria

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

It was not your fault and I will not blame the parents either.

 2 years ago 

I just wish things were different ...

 2 years ago 

On the one hand, the fact that education is free is wonderful, although I understand that in general not everything works properly and there is a need for projects that contribute to improve the quality of education.

Technology is important nowadays and the educational systems must be in the vanguard, otherwise it would be a great delay. The project could not continue to obtain financing, it is a pity but I think that they should take it up again, look for another alternative, there is always hope for the future.

 2 years ago 

Your observations are correct, we have two sides in this issue, free education is good news but it takes away the parents right to make demands.
While the public schools are free, private school are becoming more expensive, which means that something is not right. Why should a parent go to a more expensive private school when the public schools are free?

 2 years ago 

Greetings...

Our best smile, could mask our regrets.

I tell you, this singular quote has made my day.

Seeing your story, to be honest I don't know what to say, as free education meant a good thing to the kids, my dear friend its not your fault that things happened that way. I know its quite painful as this singular act as removed food from your table.

If I may ask, why not pitch your worth to the private schools?

 2 years ago 

I had no financial muscle but was confident that I could use my intelligence to offset my financial ineptitude.

The private schools don't have the facilities, they will welcome a company that can buy, bring and install. I don't have the financial muscle to do that.
Once a private school is able to get the facilities, they will not listen to any proposal to manage it for them.

On the other hand, the government schools already have the facilities but do not have a functional management strategy.
• There is no NEPA
• Government can provide a generator but not fuel.
• Teachers in public schools are good at teaching iCT on the black board. They really can't boot a computer.
What happens when it gets bad?

My plan provided solutions to this constraints.

 2 years ago 

Wow, I see you did your homework very well, at this junction, all I can say is sorry for your loss.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84