The Power Of Showing Gratitude: Fostering Appreciation and Happiness In Daily Life

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE5 months ago

handsome-cheerful-black-man-keeps-both-hands-chest-feels-touched-thankful-smiles-broadly-wears-elegant-green-sweater_273609-23587.jpg

freepik

Hello friends, welcome to my blog. Let me start by appreciating @goodybest for putting up yet another interesting contest in this beautiful Community.

I had to hop in when I saw the title of the contest so I can contribute my two cents using the contest hint. I just hope y'all find my entry interesting. So guys! Let's get into it

What Is gratitude in your own opinion?

I would define gratitude as the acknowledgement and expression of a deep sense of appreciation for something given or done for you, especially things you do not merit. There are time we received gift or shown kindness by those around us and sometimes even by strangers.

You know, I am usually in awe when random strangers do things for me or show me kindness they wouldn't have ordinarily shown to their own. This humbles me and I in return express how grateful I am to them by sincerly thanking them from the depth of my heart.

Some other time, I show my deep sense of appreciation by not just saying the word Thank you but I go the extra mile to reciprocate such kindness and show of love no matter how little it may be. I really do not take people's kindness for granted.

Why Does Gratitude Matter?

Gratitude really does matter, it's only a great fool that won't be grateful for every little thing. It even surprises me sometimes how people act up with this entitlement mentality that makes them feel they deserve every good of act of kindness being done to them by others simply because they thinks they hold some special space in their lives.

This is very wrong, let's show people we appreciate every little thing they do for us. Gratitude matters because it passes a strong message, telling whoever showed you kindness that you do not take such act of kindness for granted just like some other ungrateful soul will.

professional-thank-you-with-elegant-background_23-2150378882.webp

freepik

No matter how small what was done for you is, do not ever look down on it, not everyone out there is selfless enough to show others kindness. Even if it a recharge card of N100, accept it with all sense of appreciation, make the person feel he has done something very big.

Another reason why gratitude matters is that when you express it it positions you for more. I mean you might likely get more from whoever have shown you love. The logic behind it is simple, when I appreciate you genuinely for what you have done for me, and you see how sincere and happy I am receiving whatever you gave me, especially when it looks small to you as the giver...

You would be surprised, you would feel appreciated and by default pushed to do more for me, the feeling you would have at that point cannot be fully described because the sense of fulfilment you had as a giver at that point is like heaven on earth, knowing you have just made someone genuinely happy. Trust me, you would want to do more even to more folks out there.

How often do you show Gratitude? (give instances)

I am grateful everyday. Of course I do not get to be shown kindness by people everyday but I know Someone who showers me His love every second of the day and that is God. I'm always grateful to Him each and everytime I wake up. Surely, it was not my alarm that woke me up, He did. So I take out time to appreciate Him and love on Him.

I show him how much am grateful for the job am doing presently, it doesn't pay much neither does it match my standard financially and that's because I manage it for someone and at the same time , learning. Thoughts of leaving had crossed my mind many times, well meaning folks around me are also insinuating I leave and go start up mine because of the pay which seem far below what the economy is saying.

Then recently, I heard a neighbor of mine who had been home for months now, since last year without a job. He jokingly said to me one night when I came back from work, that he would really be grateful he he had where he goes to early in the morning like I do and return in the evening. Then it dawned on me that I've not been grateful enough for what I call little.

How Can you Make Gratitude a Habit, And how do you inculcate it in young ones?

Making gratitude a lifestyle is something one has to do consciously before it becomes what you do unconsciously. You have to intentionally ensure you condition your mind to appreciate people for every and anything they do for you, do not trivialize any.

couple-holding-hands-green-meadow_1150-26188.webp

freepik

Do not have this entitlement mentality mindset. See everything people do for you as privilege if you're on this table,I bet you, it a sure way to be delivered from that mindset. And then you have to teach the younger generation this act by intentionally putting it into practice before them and teaching them the importance of what you just showed them.

Conclusion

Gratitude should become a lifestyle, the one that should be passed to the younger generation so that we can really have people who value every little things done for them. I would love to invite my friends @josepha @waqarahmadshah @pathanapsana @de-creata


Regards
@lhorgic♥️


creativewriting steemexclusive club5050 nigeria

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

Gratitude is very important for us. It is a word that moves good things. Thanks for inviting me.

 5 months ago 

Yes dear brother. Thanks for dropping by again.

 5 months ago 

It's so easy to get caught up in the grind and forget to appreciate what we have, even if it doesn't seem like much on the surface...

It was an interesting read. Good luck in the contest! 😊

 5 months ago 

You're very correct brother, we get so caught up that sometimes we get so familiar and forget to appreciate what we are privileged to have. Thanks for your comment dear brother.

 5 months ago 

Thank you very much for publishing your post in Steem For Betterlife Community

DescriptionInformation
Verified User✔️
Club Status#club5050
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free / AI Article Free
✔️
Bot Free✔️
Beneficiaries
* #burnsteem25
* Community
* Charity

null 25%
❌steembetterlife ❌
worldsmile 10%

My brother you're absolutely right, gratitude is so important, yes we must be grateful for the little things we have and big ones will follow. And God admonished us to always show ourselves thankful so it's a must! It's good to know that you have a grateful heart ❤️ success!!


I invite you to support @pennsif.witness to grow across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available.

Click Here

 5 months ago (edited)

I appreciate your valuable comment and review on my post ma'am

 5 months ago 

@lhorgic,
Great job on your blog post! I really enjoyed reading your thoughts on gratitude. It's so important to acknowledge and appreciate the kindness and generosity shown to us, even if it may seem small or insignificant. I completely agree that gratitude matters because it sends a strong message to others that their acts of kindness are valued and not taken for granted. It's also interesting how expressing gratitude can actually lead to more positive experiences and opportunities. I loved how you shared personal instances of showing gratitude, especially towards God and in your job. It's a great reminder to be grateful for the things we often overlook. Your tips on making gratitude a habit and teaching it to the younger generation are spot on. It's something that needs to be practiced consciously until it becomes second nature. Overall, a wonderful and insightful post! Keep up the great work.

 5 months ago 

Am glad you really took your time to go through my post it shows in your well detailed comment. Yea we have to be grateful for even the very things we call insignificant, because these are really the things that matter. Thanks for your valuable comment, I appreciate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71