Steemit Engagement Challenge S9-W3: "Kindness that changed my life

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFElast year

photo-1626480145636-a733bcfdcbc4.jpeg

unsplash

Am super excited about this topic friends, it actually more than a contest for me. It's a topic I can relate with and trust me I have a couple of thoughts I would like to share as touching this topic.

Welcome to my blog. I hope you enjoy what I have to share with you. So do sit back, relax and read this goodness....smiles. Shall we? I believe yes😊.


What was the act of kindness that impacted your life? Describe the situation

Am grateful for every little act of kindness I've received in my life. Not every man is really kind by default but when you get to meet those who have cultured themselves to be good and kind for no reason, you have to appreciate them sincerely for redefining the default nature of man.

This is not to mock those who became callous because of the experience they've had with people who took advantage of them for being kind, nevertheless we shouldn't allow people attitude change us and make us the shadows of ourselves.

Am privileged to experience an act of kindness just recently. Trust me I was at a point of dire need to sort myself after NYSC, a compulsory one year service to my nation . I needed to settle down and find something doing like every other well meaning youth and this requires quite a huge sum of money as I need to get accomodation, buy stuffs in the apartment and a host of other things.

Accomodation was the major issue for me. I wanted to resume with my boss but there was nowhere to stay. He got to know and then boom he sent me almost the total amount for the apartment, he felt sorry for me because prior to this time, I had lost a huge amount of money to a frenemy. The total amount for the accomodation was about N70,000 (460.5 steems) , he sent me N50,000 (328.9 steems) and promised to balance the rest at a later date.

photo-1512358958014-b651a7ee1773.jpeg

unsplash

As if that was not enough, he didn't charge it to the pay I was going to be getting monthly. He did it out of his benevolence. He is just a kind man. I've have known him even before I started working with him, am glad he still maintains that lifestyle...even to me as a worker under him.


What were the emotions you were feeling at that time?

I was a bit tensed, almost completely confused as to what to do. The accomodation challenge was the major problem I was facing, it affected other part of my planning. I had other needs but they could still wait pending the time I get my accomodation.

I was careful on what I spent on because I wanted to be sure every penny I spent on anything was worth it. I really needed a miracle then because I was not up to the task financially.

Am glad God came through for me using my boss to sort me financially by footing the bill for my accomodation. This brought a whole lot of balance to my emotional and body system. I became calm and optimistic after that sweet experience.


How did that act impact you? (Financially, emotionally, etc.)

The impact is on financial grounds. If I wasn't shown that kindness, maybe I would have been in huge debt by now all in the name of settling down. I would be owing and my mind would not be a peace.

Am this kind of person that doesn't feel comfortable owing people. Sometimes I wonder how people owe others and feel very free walking around as a debtor and even go to the extent of fighting their creditors.

Well am glad I was shown financial kindness, it means so much to me and am not taking it for granted. Never!


What are the lessons you learned from that incident? Did it change your perspective on kindness and the way you treat others?

I've learnt a whole lot from my experience. Anybody can be of help to you just be open minded enough to admit you need help when you really do. And you should also do well to show others kindness as well when there is a need to.

photo-1602973507597-0cb4b3551a19.jpeg

unsplash

This is what makes the world go round. Showing kindness is actually a seed. It grows and bears fruit. That little thing you did today can become the very thing that will make you happy for the rest of your life. Be kind to everyone, not just people you know.


Did you manage to pass it forward by showing kindness to others? How?

Of course I was able to pass it on. Don't forget I mentioned that these acts of kindness make the world go round. I was helped financially, I have also shown kindness to those around me financially by helping them foot their little bills.

photo-1617052083857-81678da101e7.jpeg

unsplash

They appreciated it because they never expected it. Not expecting it is what makes it very interesting and mind blowing. I would say I've put smiles on people's face because someone also did that to me. I would still put smiles on people's face if no one did anything kind to me because there's nothing bad if kindness starts from me to the ends of the earth


Conclusion

It doesn't actually cost so much to be kind yet the impact is long lasting and priceless. Do well to put smile on someone's face today via your act of kindness. Do not forget your very act of kindness is a seed that will grow and germinate and even outlast you, leaving good grounds for your offspring to thread on.

I trust you enjoyed every bit of this entry. Thanks for staying with me. Just before I finally drop my pen, I would love to invite my friends, @prabin09 @waqarahmadshah @drhira @josepha to this contest. Gracias!


Regards
@lhorgic♥️


Sort:  
 last year 

I can only imagine the relief you felt when your boss offered to pay for your accommodation. It's true that even the smallest acts of kindness can make a difference in someone's life. Your story highlights the importance of being open to receiving help when we need it, as well as the power of showing kindness to others. You have written very nicely, my friend. Thank you for inviting me to the contest. I'll try to participate and I wish you the best of luck in the contest! 😊

 last year 

You know what brother? You're just the best. You approached this topic well with your valuable comment. Thanks for dropping by once again.

 last year 

You are welcome. 😊

 last year 

You have used very good words in your post which is very nice to read because Kindness is a topic that we can freely write about and also inform others about it. I hope you will be a helpful person for people in future.

Loading...
 last year 

Your boss was truly a good man who stood by you in your time of need and helped you. Hope his act of generosity will be a plaque in your life.

In fact, these small acts of kindness in our lives make our lives more meaningful and we can learn from them and engage ourselves in the welfare of humanity.

I like your presentation very much. I wish you good luck for the competition.

 last year 

Yes indeed, my boss is a good man.Thank you friend, I really appreciate you warm comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.52
ETH 2532.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52