Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE27 days ago

Hi Steemians,
It's another day of the week and I'm delighted to participate in this contest today organized by @goodybest which talks about Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation. I will be making my entry below so read through it and drop your valuable comment as it will be appreciated.

illustration-language-concept_53876-20610.jpg
Source

What is your indigenous language, is it your country's official language and can your kids speak the language?

My indigenous language is Igbo. In Nigeria there are three major languages namely Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba. All these 3 are the indigenous language of Nigerians. This means that all Nigerians are expected to know all or atleast one of these languages.

As for me, I came from the eastern part of the country and the language I can speak fluently is Igbo though I can also speak Hausa because my parents and myself have lived in the northern part of the country as well were Hausa is mostly spoken.

languages-concept-illustration_114360-16493.jpg
Source

So as ta stands, I speak Igbo and Hausa language I also understand Yoruba a bit. This means that I understand all the indigenous language of my country Nigeria. I'm still very young and not yet married but my little brothers and sisters also speak this languages as well because we stay together and then speak it always.

In a nutshell, Nigeria is a country with diverse languages but the three that has been approved to be the face of the country is the Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba. So everyone here speaks atleast one of these languages.

What are some of your country's traditions and how do you preserve them orally?

My country traditional that is preserved till this moment is the traditional way of cooking. When you come to the villages or when there is a ceremony you will notice that the food is being cooked using firewood and possibly locally made pots because that has been the tradition of the people from day one.

burning-woods-campfire-site-with-smoke_23-2148253444.jpg
Source

So these traditions has been passed by from generation to generation and every event in our homes and villages still use these means of preparing their meals. The teast of the meal prepared using firewood is always different when compared to others.

So this is one of the traditions of my country that is still preserve till this very moment. Also these shows if a woman can e able to cook or not because she will be asked to set the fire herself and then we will see from the setting of the fire if she can cook or not.

Here I will want to invite a few friends to also join the contest and share their entries as well. I invite @sahmie, @bossj23 and @josepha

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted by @italygame witness curation trail


If you like our work and want to support us, please consider to approve our witness




CLICK HERE 👇

Come and visit Italy Community



Hi @kuzboy,
my name is @ilnegro and I voted your post using steem-fanbase.com.

Come and visit Italy Community

Loading...
 20 days ago 

I couldn't help but smile while reading your entry, wow you really try to understand almost all the 3 major languages spoken in Nigeria, but guess what? I understood none.

I can attest that food cooked with firewood tastes good and different. Thanks for sharing your views with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51