Indigenous Languages and Oral Traditions’ Preservation.

Friends I welcome you with a beautiful smile to my post. Here in this list, I have written about my indigenous language.


What is your indigenous language, is it your country's official language, and can your kids speak the language?

image.png
Source

Adara-Kulu is my indigenous language, but Hausa is the official language in the place where I came from. I am from the northern part of Nigeria, which in the northern part of Nigeria, Hausa is the official language that is generally spoken in the northern part of Nigeria.

However, my indigenous language is Adara-Kulu, which is the native language of my parents and of the village that I belong to in southern Kaduna. As for if my kids can speak the language, I can't tell until I have given the bird to the kids. Currently, I am a single lady who is yet to be married, but in my family, all of us can speak Adara-Kulu and Hausa fluentandhich I would also like my kids to speak the language.


What are some of your country's traditions and how do you preserve them orally?

Nigeria's traditions are so many in different tribes and cultures. One of the traditions in Nigeria that is practiced across the 36 states is wedding (marriage). It is very common to have three weddings in Nigeria except you are getting married to someone outside Nigeria.

According to tradition, a traditional wedding is the first, followed by a court wedding which is the second, and then the last church or mosque wedding. The idealogy behind this tradition is for both unions to recognize each other and respect themselves, appreciate the parents of the lady for how she was well taken care of. Another tradition that follows after this is the mother-in-law helping their daughter-in-law immediately after giving birth, which I have seen my mother practice.

image.png
Source

Also, religious, cultural, and family traditions are the ones I kept abiding by orally as a young and vibrant girl. In my village with have our cultural day in which the activities seem to be different from that of other communities cultural activities.

Thank you madam @goodybest

I am calling on : @onomzy001, @wakeupkitty.pal, and @chiomzy810

Sort:  
 7 days ago 

Thanks for sharing your indigenous language with us, I believe that as long as you can speak very well you will be able to teach your unborn kids too, because it's part of your true identity. I appreciate your contribution!

Thank you ma.

 16 days ago 

Thank you very much for publishing your post in Steem For Betterlife Community

DescriptionInformation
Verified UserNewcomer
Club Status#club5050
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free / AI Article Free
✔️
Bot Free✔️
Beneficiaries
* #burnsteem25
* Community
* Charity

null 25% ❌
steembetterlife ❌
worldsmile 10%✔️

Appeal to community members:

  • Let's increase Steem Power (SP) to support each other by joining at least #club5050
  • Maintain the authenticity of your content to get greater support
  • Only use original photos or copyright-free images by linking the image source

Verified by @𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘢𝘥𝘪

Wow, i love the fact that you embraced religious, culture and family tradition. These are the fact about life. I wish you success in your entry

Thank you ma.

A beautiful post, I love how you shared your indigenous language, Adara-Kulu, and the importance of preserving cultural traditions. It's fascinating to learn about the wedding traditions in Nigeria and the significance of respecting both families' unions. I also appreciate how you highlighted the support of mother-in-laws for their daughter-in-laws after childbirth. Your commitment to keeping cultural, religious, and family traditions alive orally is truly admirable. Keep sharing your rich cultural heritage with us! Smiling face with heart eyes.💞

 13 days ago 

Wow! Of all that I thought I knew Nigeria as a historian, I've never heard of a spoken dialect known as Adara-Kulu in Southern Kaduna. This is my first time of knowing about that I must say.

Nicely written content, best wishes to you dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55213.27
ETH 2919.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.95