Food Review || Butlers Cafe || Is It Worth The Hype...

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago (edited)

Greatness recognizes greatness. To appreciate good food you need to have good taste buds. A fun fact while we are talking about taste buds. On your tongue, the majority of sweet taste buds are upfront, the salt and the sour taste buds are the lateral surfaces, and the bitter taste buds are at the back of the tongue. Though it's not a hard and fast rule for the buds to be located at these precise positions, the majority are found here.

I believe that if you're living in Karachi, you develop good taste buds on your own. We have so much variety of food. From continental to European cuisines. From Indian Desi dishes to the French nouvelle cuisines. It's almost an obligation to try new dishes every now and then, as we have so many options.

Although, I am not a guy who spends a lot of money recklessly, every once in a while I visit a new cafe and put their dishes to the test. Usually, it's my University mates who accompany me in this. Why? Because once we get free from the OPDs, we're extremely hungry and the food served in the University cafeteria doesn't go too well without taste buds.

So last week, we had another adventure of visiting a very famous cafe in Karachi. A cafe, I have never been to. Why call it an adventure? Because of the series of events that took place while reaching this cafe. We were stopped by the traffic police. They threatened to tow our car. Heavy rain poured down upon us. We visited the seaside for short while and then finally reached:


BUTLERS CHOCOLATE CAFE


3.jpg


WHAT3WORDSIMG-20220826-WA0096.jpg
PLUS.CODESIMG-20220826-WA0095.jpg
GOOGLE MAPSIMG_20220826_163516.jpg

Located in one of the most elite areas of Karachi, Butlers Chocolate Cafe is expensive and you need to keep this in mind before visiting this place. Even though I am against expensive food but for the sake of trying new cafes, I visited it. No. I just realized. Let me rephrase it. I am not against expensive food as long as it is good. But cafes charging hefty amounts just because they are located in an elite locality with a western name on their billboards is what I don't agree with.

So, I had an idea, Butlers would be quite expensive but I was eager to review its food. As soon as I entered the cafe, it gave me the mellow vibes of a bakery cum cafe with a separate counter built for all the sweet dishes such as cakes, patties, tarts, etc.

The seating arrangement was quite spacious with each table catering to 5-6 people at once. There was a small workstation in the corner of the cafe, provided with a charging cord, free wifi, and an upright comfortable chair for you to sit on. Quite admirable if you ask me.


IMG-20220826-WA0011.jpgIMG-20220826-WA0006.jpg

After getting comfortable in our seats, the waiter came and presented us with a menu card. The menu card was beautiful. I know it's not an important thing while reviewing a cafe but I appreciate things like these.


IMG-20220826-WA0012.jpg


Since the Cafe is named, the chocolate cafe, they had pictures of chocolate on the front card. Apart from that, they were also serving complimentary chocolate on ordering any barista-made beverage. How cool is that?

One of my friends who was with me in this cafe, told me that she has tried Buttlers' Penne Pasta and it's phenomenal and mouth-watering. Since we were five people, all of us ordered different cuisines to try new items. The order consisted of:


  • Pesto Chicken Panini
  • Penne Arabiata
  • Smoked Chicken Penne
  • Royal Pizza
  • Crumbled Chicken
  • Garlic Bread w/Parmesan
  • Soft Drinks (5)

IMG-20220826-WA0004.jpg

Crumbled Chicken


IMG-20220826-WA0003.jpg

Penne Arabiata


IMG-20220826-WA0009.jpg

Royal Pizza


IMG-20220826-WA0007.jpg

Smoked Chicken Penne


IMG-20220826-WA0002.jpg

Pesto Chicken Panini


MY REVIEW ON THIS CAFE


Keeping my method of reviewing a cafe intact, I'll first of all talk about the food served to us in the Butlers Chocolate Cafe.

The food was exceptionally well cooked and tasted good except for the Crumbled chicken. I couldn't understand the logic of pricing it so high. The crumbled chicken was just a big nugget with insufficient chicken filled inside it. Well, the good thing was that it was served with fries.

Except for this, all the other dishes were perfect. The Penne Arabiata was so good, I honestly haven't tasted Penne Pasta as good as the Buttlers' yet. It was mouth-watering. All of us wanted to have a bit of it. The other dishes were quite good as well but I'd say the quantity of each dish wasn't as much as I had expected. Maybe it's because I keep a lot of expectations, but as my friend once said:

You're here to enjoy good food. Not to criticize its quantity.


So I think the food was sufficient.


The next thing up for review is the service. Extremely professional and considerate waiters who had good manners. The service was of top quality and I honestly had no complaints regarding the service.


The ambiance of the cafe was amazing. It had mellow vibes. The air conditioners were working perfectly. The space was enough to cater to people comfortably. Slow music was turned on and I felt really relaxed dining there.


Overall, I'd rate:

  • Food: 7/10
  • Service: 9/10
  • Ambience: 8/10

COST


IMG-20220826-WA0000.jpgIMG-20220826-WA0010.jpg

ITEMSPKRSTEEM
Penne Arabiata95018
Royal Pizza1,05020
Crumbled Chicken1,20023
Smoked Chicken Penne95018
Pesto Chicken Panini1,05020
Garlic Bread w/Parmesan3006
Soft drinks x565013
General Sales Tax80015
Total6,150118

MY PICTURE FOR AUTHENTICATION


IMG-20220826-WA0066.jpg


Review onButlers Chocolate Cafe
Pictures by@huzaifanaveed1
Device usedRedmi Note 9s

cc: @pennsif


Sort:  

That picture of crumbed chicken (crumbled or crumbed?) made my mouth water until I read how average it tasted. And yes, it was definitely over-priced. In fact, I found chicken Panini to be highly priced too. But then again, it's Butlers, how could the food there be not expensive lol.
I remember having the worst food experience at Del Frio. That's when I realized such restaurants should only be tested for their desserts and not savory items. So the next time you visit Butler's, please do try their cheesecake, it'll be worth your money.

Good review though! It made me miss Karachi. :(

 2 years ago 

It was crumbled chicken. I was trying it for the first time as well. Panini was a bit overpriced but it was very tasty. Absolutely mouthwatering. The best of these dishes was the Penne Arabiata. It was inch Perfecttt.

I have been to Del Frio as well, but didn't find it too bad. I remember trying some sweet dish there, it was really good. Chocolate Lava cake tha shayd. Oh no, wo toh Newyork Coffee par tha. But Del Frio ka experience acha tha mera.

I'll definitely try their Cheesecake if I visit Butlers again. I highly doubt I'll be visiting it anytime soon tho 😂

The best of these dishes was the Penne Arabiata.

Oh nice.. Its looks really yummytoo.

I'll definitely try their Cheesecake if I visit Butlers again. I highly doubt I'll be visiting it anytime soon tho

HAHA

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08

Curated by @marlyncabrera

SteemCor07 - Lifestyle Curation Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39