PROSTHODONTICS: POST 7 || MY LAST POST OF THE PROSTHO ROTATION || TRAUMATIC TEETH LOSS CASE AND AN ANTERIOR TEETH LOSS CASE

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220227_021627.jpg


First of all, I'd like to tell you all something. I absolutely loved posting about my prosthodontics rotation. Honestly, posting my cases here on steemit actually made me do my work better as well. I used to get so engaged in any case that I was presented with. Tagged alongside senior dentists. Learned a lot from the House Officers as well as Residents. There was a different sort of enthusiasm in me. No finally after 2 months, the Prosthodontics rotation is over and I'll be moving to the Operative Department. I will start with my Operative Dentistry posts from next week. I am very very excited for that as I love operative Dentistry. It's all about treating traumatic tooth loss, matrix bands, fillers, composites and much more. But before that here I am writing down my final post of the Prosthodontics series. For my last post, I thought I'd present you all two different cases. So lets begin.


MISSING PREMOLARS OF BOTH QUADRANTS


IMG_20220226_222443.jpg


A patient was presented in the OPD with missing premolars of both her quadrants. It was a vey rare case. I am sure how did she manage to do that. My first thought, was that she had her premolars removed so that space could be retained for her anteriors to come in position. This usually happens when you apply orthodontic braces. The anterior teeth which are out of position, need some space so that they could be brought back into position.

But that wasn't the case with her as when you apply orthodontic braces, you can't have your oremolars reinstalled again as that space gets occupied by the anterior teeth. So what we were told was that she had an accident in which she lost her PMs. I'm still confused how did that happen but well that's none of our business.

The first thing to do was to take her impression so that when we fix her teeth, they set perfectly on each other, guving her a good occlusion and no pain on opening or closing her teeth.


IMG-20220226-WA0067.jpgIMG-20220226-WA0072.jpg

Since the impression included both dentulous and edentulism, we had to apply both heavy bodied elastomeres as well as a layer of soft bodied elastomeres, so that the impression of the endentulous area could be perfect.

After that a baseblate was created by carving out a wax pattern and then applying *Acrylic Resin, over it. I have already described the method of wax pattern multiple times so I won't be going into details of that again in this post. After the base plate was created, acrylic teeth were set on the baseplate and fixed on it.


IMG-20220226-WA0062.jpgIMG-20220226-WA0066.jpg

It is VERY VERY IMPORTANT to have ideal properties in a baseplate, ie, it should have high value of modulus of elasticity, low value of thermal conductivity, high value of thermal diffusivity and much more as the baseblate has to br fixed inside the patient's mouth for a lifetime.

Anyway, after that, the patient was waiting in the OPD and the partial denture was fixed in her mouth. Her new teeth looked absolutely beautiful.


IMG-20220226-WA0065.jpg


MISSING ANTERIOR TEETH


IMG_20220226_230714.jpg


Another case, which my senior was working on. A 45 year old woman presented in the OPD with her mandibular anterior teeth missing. To be exact, the Central and Lateral Incisors were missing. The history revealed consumption of high quantity of chewing tobacco and other stuff.


The first mandatory procedure was to take an impression. Since, the issue involved was in the anterior teeth, which basically means more aesthetic demands, the impression was to be taken absolutely perfectly with no margin of error.


IMG-20220226-WA0072.jpgIMG-20220226-WA0075.jpg

The thing about anterior teeth is that we can't use acrylic or other materials for replacement as aesthetics are very important when treating the anterior teeth. So the material of choice for anterior teeth is usally Porcelain for multiple reasons. The most important one being that it is inexpensive. Even though the best material to be used in the anterior teeth is Zirconia but it is not commonly used due to its extremely high prices.

Except for that, Porcelain has more advantages as well, such as it's shiny color, its hardness etc. But the disadvantages are more, for instance, it is brittle in nature and can break easily when extra forces are applied.

Anyway, since there were a couple of teeth missing we had to create a bridge. A bridge is when you connect more than 1 tooth together.


The process was going on in lab while we took some rest. As soon as the technician handed us over the partial denture, we placed it inside the patient's miuth, thus giving her a new smile, a new life.


IMG-20220226-WA0074.jpg


Well this was it from my side. From my Prosthodontics rotations. I will surely miss it but I'll back in the Prostho OPD very soon again as we'll have another rotation.

At this occasion, I'd like to present a thank you to the curators' team, steemcurator01. As I am ending my Prosthodontics series, I'll pay my thanks to the team for supporting me throughout my series of Prosthodontics. The support encourages me to do more and more on this platform and InshaAllah from this coming week, I'll be starting with my Operative Dentistry posts.
Thank you.
Regards.


And as always:


PAKISTAN'S FIRST 4x DOLPHIN


23,000 STEEM POWER


I have shown my dedication and commitment to this platform again and again by building my account and my steem power in such a short period of time. I have the HIGHEST amount of SP for a Pakistani user as well as I am the first Pakistani 4x dolphin on steemit and very soon a 5x Dolphin. The commitment can be seen as I have been powering up 100% of my rewards for a very long time now. I'm a #club100 member and intend on staying that way.

As we step into 2022, I have big plans on steemit. My first plan is already complete, ie, being a 4x Dolphin. The very next goal is to be a 5x Dolphin. I have already powered up 16,000 Steem since the inauguration of the #club5050 campaign. Of course, none of this would have been possible without your support steemcurator01 and steemcurator02. I'd continue posting quality content on this platform. I hope my commitment to powering up would help me in getting the much-needed support.
Thank you.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Curated By - @event-horizon
Curation Team - Life and Humanity

 2 years ago 

Waow, that's a great transformation, but how do you solve the problem of tooth decay

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97